Totally Awesome.

The world’s greatest Kate posted a story a little while ago about a conversation she and a friend had had. I thought it was hilarious and a head trip and she said I could make it into a video.
My friends Marisol and Jen and I built a clothing store in my living room on Saturday, edited Sunday, and threw it on the interweb last night!
Jen’s dress is from Forever 21, mine is from a store called Happiness in East LA.

36 Responses to “Totally Awesome.”


  1. 1 ohyeahbabe January 7, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Thanks, I really enjoyed that! I love your sense of humor and enjoy reading your blog.
    OYB

    Considering the Kimkins diet? Read this first: Kimkins Diet Scam Update.

  2. 2 Rachel January 7, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    That was totally awesome!! 🙂

  3. 4 Amy January 7, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    this reminds me of me and my friend brittney 😀

  4. 6 ladyjaye January 7, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    As I posted over at Kate’s blog, I think the video is amazing! It’s a good illustration of the good old “The grass is greener on the other side” saying… ❤

  5. 7 kateharding January 7, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    I love that you did that in your living room!

  6. 8 Joy Nash January 7, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Heheh– it was so fun! .. I brought almost my entire closet downstairs to hang on the racks.. and then I kept complimenting myself on the awesomeness of the clothes for sale. 🙂

  7. 9 kim January 8, 2008 at 12:32 am

    wohooo! LOVE IT! and that totally could have been one of my girls… 🙂

  8. 10 Jamie January 8, 2008 at 2:14 am

    Right on. Way to demonstrate a great point. This should be a commercial. A commercial advertising self-acceptance.

  9. 11 Lonie Mc. January 8, 2008 at 6:08 am

    Thank you, Joy, for helping us visualize what fat acceptance would look like. Every time I watch one of your videos (and I watch them repeatedly), I tear up.

    Great job! And kudos to Kate for having the conversation in the first place.

  10. 12 samysoft January 8, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Want to trade links? My BBW forum is
    http://www.ssbbw4u.com/smf
    I can promote your blog there if you promote my forum.

  11. 13 Elastic Waist January 9, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    I always knew if Kate Harding and Joy Nash teamed up they could do powerful things!

  12. 14 Caduceus January 9, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    Er…

    I don’t know, maybe I’m just much more of a failure at interpreting tone of voice, expression, and body language than I thought I was. But if I had been present at that conversation, I would have attempted to sympathize with the boob girl, because she seemed insincere as hell. I mean, I just stumbled in here through a link, but I get the impression that both this blog and this video are, in theory, about how it’s okay to be “fat.” Maybe if you believe that you should be convincing about it?

  13. 15 J January 9, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    Augh. Sick.

    What the hell is this? ‘Fat Acceptance’ is just another way for American society to give up.

    To comment on this… ‘statement’, the fat lady, whom I can only guess is Joy Nash, just can’t be truly happy with that. ‘What’s life like with boobs like those?’ ‘Totally awesome’. Give. Me. A. Break. What we’re seeing there isn’t breast. Alright? Don’t delude yourself. ‘Some of you might think that she has big boobs. No. She has FAT boobs. Just wrapped up in flab.

    And furthermore, if she thinks that she gets all the attention for her large ‘boobs’, she must be fooling herself. Speaking as a guy, I think I’ve got a pretty good place to say ‘No, guys like boobs. They do not like flab.’ I strongly theorize that grabbing the breast of Joy Nash is reminiscent of squeezing a fat belly. Ick.

    I don’t know what has led people like this to believe that it’s alright for them to look like this. And that their bodies are fine looking the way they are.

    No.

    Fat is unhealthy. It is your body’s natural reaction for two things. One) It gets too much food, so it has to store it for later.
    Two) ‘Later’ never comes. You don’t exercise.

    “That’s mean and untrue!” One might say. Nu-uh. It’s biologically accurate. Fat is emergency energy. When your body is hungry and has no food, it consumes itself, fat, to be more specific.

    “Then fat is a good thing!” a moron might say. No, wrong again.

    Fat is something you don’t want, it’s a natural handicap. It’s a bunch of weight that only serves to hinder your body. For girls especially, considering that those things become giant sacks of fat.
    Of course, being male, my thoughts on this topic stem from observation only. But, I have observed some of my friends with naturally large breasts having problems with their weight. All they go through, I cringe at seeing them having to carry any more weight. I can only guess that sacks of fat are only like two big five pound weights on your from.

    I’m on a tangent again.

    My point is, when our society says that ‘being fat is OK, and that it’s good too’ makes me laugh on the outside, and cry on the inside. Bleh, don’t you think that goes against our natural instincts as living creatures? Back in a time where being fit and lean was a living requirement, fat people couldn’t exist, considering that they couldn’t do anything. Can’t run, can’t hunt, can’t work. Bleh. Accepting the notions that people here are trying to sell is an abomination of what we’re programmed to think.

    I’d also like to throw it out there that this is a death sentence. Those of you who are obese can expect to live a significantly shorter life then those people who are thin and healthy. Yes, I contrasted fat people and healthy people. Think of all the pain and stress you’re unleashing on your body! Grinding joints… Bad knees… Heart disease… Don’t we have enough wear and tear on our bodies just by living? Augh.

    Man, for those of you who can’t tell, I have a lot of ideas on this matter.

    Well, if you’re still reading, thanks a lot.

  14. 16 Joy Nash January 9, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Oh honey, it’s just a video. Don’t get your manties in a bunch. 😉

  15. 17 Mike January 9, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    With the above, yup. Very few people who are overweight have actual medical problems.

    For most of the rest, it is simply thermodynamics. You take more energy in than you put out.

    Being significantly overweight isn’t healthy and excuses should not be made about it. That’s it. Ask any doctor.

    J has a very valid point. Those aren’t boobs, they’re fat. And is that an ass in the front? Ass’s are supposed to be in the back only. That’s the way it is.

    Feel free to tell me how wrong I am, ok? I love a good debate. Especially when I’m right.

  16. 18 Joy Nash January 9, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    Sorry, no time. I’m having too much fun being fat!
    ask Kate though. http://www.kateharding.net
    She’s great with debate. 😉

  17. 19 Swellanor January 10, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Great video, Joy! I love how much happens in your faces and tones of voice- the dialogue itself could be played so many different ways!

  18. 20 fatback January 10, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    I have a G cup when I’m 140lbs or when I’m 300lbs. My cup size never changes. Men are so ignorant when it comes to breasts.

  19. 21 boots January 10, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    “Very few people who are overweight have actual medical problems.

    Being significantly overweight isn’t healthy…”

    So…which is it? Overweight people don’t have medical problems or they do? You can’t have it both ways for the sake of your argument, Mike.

  20. 22 ...... January 10, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    The movement advocates healthy living. You know: Exercise, healthy eating, regular sleep, low stress, and so on FOR EVERYONE? Come the fuck on.

    At least take a look at something before you prejudge it. You just flat out generalized it based on what you see in fat people. If going the gym because one wants to work on the seven elements of fitness rather than getting the perfect body is “Giving up,” then a lot of thin people like myself are giving up. We’d rather be able to run three miles than look like Brad Pitt. I’m pretty sure fitness is a greater indicator of health.

    Joy works out regularly. Why? Because it’s good for her.

    – Boobs are modified sweat glands to store adipose tissue, and nutrients for children. Anatomy much?

    -If you knew anything about biochemistry, you would realize that not only are there EIGHT factors involved in metabolism, the bodies hormones have direct effect on how it processes our intake. You have to interlock arrows for all the hormones that can affect metabolism to get the equation anywhere NEAR right. Calories in/out is a gross oversimplification.

    Calories + Fat + Carbs + Protein + Bodily involuntary movement + Voluntary movement + Excretion + other + ALL YOUR HORMONES = 0.

    EVEN THIS IS AN OVERSIMPLIFICATION! What about people that can’t metabolize sugars? What about people that have thyroid disorders? High metabolic reactions? Low metabolic reactions? Genetics has nothing to do with it? Yea. Sure.

    Oh, i’m sorry. Content doesn’t matter beyond calories. That means I don’t have to worry about fat, or carbs, or protein, quality of food, processing, nothing. NONE OF THAT EVER STORES IN MY BODY OR WEAKENS ME! It just goes away into some desolate area!

    We’re not bunsen burners: We’re humans. Anyone ever hear of Diversity? Don’t tell me you think your musclebound friend burns calories at the same rate as you do.

    Check Kate’s blog for a new study stating that healthy living breeds health in people regardless of size. It’s not the only one either.

    Giving up: Right. Let’s just get rid of 80% of sports, since ability is the key to doing them well instead of aesthetic. It’s just giving up, right?

  21. 23 J January 12, 2008 at 5:18 am

    Hahaha, I’m surprised that I got a response from someone, much less Joy Nash herself… Hmm…

    Yeah, I guess my rant got a little… overbearing, i just tend to feel strongly about some sorts of things.

    As for you ‘fatback’, you said…

    “I have a G cup when I’m 140lbs or when I’m 300lbs. My cup size never changes. Men are so ignorant when it comes to breasts.”

    First off. Holy. Shit.

    Second. I can’t imagine why men are so out of it when it comes to breasts… Maybe because we don’t have em…. Or maybe because no one tells us this stuff?

  22. 24 sweetmachine January 17, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Second. I can’t imagine why men are so out of it when it comes to breasts… Maybe because we don’t have em…. Or maybe because no one tells us this stuff?

    Or maybe because you say things like “ick” and “Holy. Shit.” when confronted with the mere idea of them?

    Or because you’re dumb as a box of hammers?

    (I mean J, personally, of course, not all men in general. Many men take a little bit of time out of their lives to find out the most basic facts about half the human species.)

  23. 25 sweetmachine January 17, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    (Sorry for feeding a troll, Joy, but this one was really something.)

  24. 26 evilgumball January 18, 2008 at 9:19 am

    “Back in a time where being fit and lean was a living requirement…”

    You know, during famines, droughts, times where little food was available? When being lean was necessary to…um, you know…and the body could still feed on its own muscle so that was..hmmm.

    “…fat people couldn’t exist, considering that they couldn’t do anything.”

    Except fuck, apparently, because it seems to me that there are still fat people around and about, meaning the genes predisposing people to accumulate fat didn’t die out.

    Of course, I’m sure J doesn’t believe that being fat has a genetic component, since his thinking on fat seems to go “-I- don’t want to fuck fat women, therefore fat is unattractive, therefore fat is unnatural, therefore fat is unhealthy” which is faulty logic if not outright stupidity.

  25. 27 bbwdating January 30, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    I am new to your blog. But I like it.

  26. 28 bigangel March 25, 2008 at 7:18 am

    It’s not the first time I view this video. I viewed it at largeplace.com when I search bbw video in Google. And luckly, I know it is created by you. I like it. Thanks for it.

  27. 29 hil June 18, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    where have i seen jen before? she looks so familiar!

  28. 30 Sarah July 2, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    J, It’s a shame you feel so disgusted by people that exist everywhere all over the world. You must have a very difficult time walking down a street without vomiting, or screaming obscenities at fat people, cause we’re everywhere!
    It seems to me that you can’t grasp the concept that everyone has a place in this world, and can be loved, no matter what size they are. I am 5’9, 300 lb, and have a great curvy figure. I have a wonderful boyfriend, and when I go out, I get hit on all the time. I am not unattractive or gross because of my size. In fact, there are many men out there who prefer a large woman.
    I am also in great health. My BP is always perfect, my blood work is great, my pulse is normal. I don’t have any major health problems related to my weight. I have always been fat, and in the last year have changed my eating and dieting habits. I walk regularly, and eat healthy food. No fast food anymore. I am still fat, but very healthy and attractive. I even check the mail everyday. You are making such a narrow minded statement about a very large group of people (lol), when most of that doesn’t apply to most of us. There are many reasons people become fat, and many reasons they choose to accept it, rather than beat themselves up for it, getting more depressed, emotional eating, gaining more weight. Once I accepted that I am fat and beautiful, I was more able to change my habits, not to loose weight, I don’t even have a scale. I just want to feel a little better. But I will always be fat, and that’s just who I am.
    You have such horrible insecurities about other people’s weight issues. I am just wondering what kind of insecurities are buried in your head about yourself. If you are so skinny and perfect, why are you even watching this video? Just to get on a website full of fat people and try to make them start dieting and excercising because YOU called us fat, ick, gross…what are you, like 17? Get another hobby and leave us alone, we are sick of putting up with shit from assholes like you…hence the Fat Acceptance Movement!

    • 31 emi December 16, 2009 at 2:58 am

      Sarah, although i don’t necessarily agree with the way J conveyed his message, he makes some valid points. i’m glad you’re accepted and hit on, etc., and that that makes you feel better.
      and i’m glad you have “perfect BP,” great blood work, normal pulse, etc. good health is a true blessing. i don’t know how old you are…but all those normal lab values and vital signs will not always be there if you remain at a weight of 300 lbs. people that say, “you can be fat and be healthy” are absolutely and blatantly wrong. the obese/morbidly obese will eventually experience a health problem as a result of their extra weight. at least one of the following will eventually ensue: diabetes, arthritis, erectile dysfunction, infertility, heart disease, high cholesterol, high BP…and that overweight person will end up in the hospital due to a stroke or heart attack or some other complication that is a result of some of those disease states. i’m sorry, but it’s a fact. i say this because i am a healthcare professional that works in an emergency department and i see it each and every day. we KNOW beyond the shadow of a doubt that being obese is due to eating too much and/or lack of physical activity. that is THE reason. we also know that obesity and diabetes, heart disease, etc., are directly associated with one another. we KNOW that obesity will and does lead to all of those things. when i say “we” i’m not referring to only those who work in healthcare – this is public knowledge, and there is no excuse for those who claim ignorance about it. the practical pandemic of obesity and the complications that result are part of why our healthcare is so ridiculously expensive. i digress.
      i’m glad you are relatively healthy right now, and i commend you on revising your habits to healthier ones. i hope you continue this, and i wish more people in a situation similar to yours would do such a thing. saying you will always be fat makes me sad…i realize you say this to make you feel better about yourself, but you’re not even giving yourself the opportunity to achieve and maintain a healthy weight. it is doable. i know several people who have done it, and i encourage you to strive for it.

  29. 32 sandrar September 10, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


  1. 1 The Fat Acceptance Movement is a Bunch of Hogwash - Violent Acres Trackback on January 9, 2008 at 2:20 pm
  2. 2 Blogging is Not a Hate Free Workplace » Kimkins Controversy - Kimkins Scam Trackback on January 10, 2008 at 6:48 am
  3. 3 The Grass Is Always Greener at memoirs on a rainy day Trackback on January 30, 2008 at 2:25 pm
  4. 4 The Grass Is Always Greener « memoirs on a rainy day Trackback on February 24, 2008 at 3:19 pm

Leave a comment