My new hummingbird dress…

Some ootds…

hummingbird dress: eShakti —still available in blue and black!
bolero: Torrid
belt: Target
shoes: thrifted
earrings: Koi in Pasadena

I’ve been wearing this dress non-stop since it came in the mail a week or 2 ago. I need to take some more pictures because this past weekend my mom altered it for me– no more saggy waist and baggy nipples! For now though, all I got are pics of the belt and bolero combo disguise.


top: LB
skirt: Old Navy
leggings: F21
backwards belt: Target
shoes: Urban Outfitters
I wore this to work and to give the security guard at Carl’s Jr some excitement or something. He said he wanted to show me something in “the shed”. I didn’t think that was very good idea.



jacket/ pin/ purse/ socks: thrifted
tank: Old Navy – $2.50!!
jeggings as pants: F21
shoes: Urban Outfitters $10!

This I wore to work and then to listen to comedians fight desperately to be heard at a bar.
The women comedians were more successful because their voices were higher.
That’s it!

5’8″ 240ish 49-42-51

oh PS: I’ll be posting a whole lotta shit on fatshionxchange on Thursday, so keep your eyes peeled!

15 Responses to “My new hummingbird dress…”


  1. 1 Ashley June 22, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    You look fabulous in all of these pics!

  2. 2 papumorgado June 25, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    Hey,
    I love your videos and I think you are gorgeous! The pictures are really nice šŸ™‚

  3. 3 Veronica June 27, 2010 at 3:33 am

    I really love the hummingbird dress! And you do look sexy in that second outfit:=)

  4. 4 Sharona June 30, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    Hi Joy,

    Firstly I want to say that I just saw your fat rant video and think it’s fabulous! I wish i’d thought of doing something like that. You are amazing in it, funny, intelligent and couragous, not to mention you look gorgeous!

    I’d be interested in reposting it on http://www.plusmag.com.au which is a size acceptance website run by myself and my partner. We also have a clothing website based in Australia. Where are you located in the world?

    Would you be interested in writing something for plus mag on a regular basis?

    If you could get back to us, that would be fantastic and we can take it from there.

    Looking forward to your response,

    Kind Regards,

    Sharona Radovsky
    Director
    WRAP Plus Sized Clothing
    contactus@plussizedclothing.com.au

  5. 5 Dawn July 9, 2010 at 10:46 am

    We are so much alike in some ways . I dress alot like you (I even own a lot of the same things you have in these pix. lol) and I LOVE to play around with my clothes and make them into something they were not originally ! Fashion is an alsome way to express yourself and I always love when I go out and get compliments on something I made or altered ! LOVE all your look’s here !!

    Much love
    Dawn

    Ps. That red hummingbird dress is to die for !

  6. 6 Donna July 28, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    The hummingbird dress is STUNNING! It really suits you and it makes you look amazing…
    I have just ordered a blue one. Unfortunately I could not find the red one…but blue is beautiful also.
    I really needed a dress for an upcoming party. I’m so glad I found your post! Thanks!

  7. 7 Lauren July 29, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Just wanted to let you know I think you are stunningly gorgeous and you are a total inspiration to me.

  8. 8 Shay August 7, 2010 at 6:45 am

    My hero! You’re the most mature, self-loving young person that I’ve come across in a very long time.

    For three years, I’ve been living in t-shirts that I buy bulk in the men’s department and my husband’s old sweat pants. I never let my picture be taken. I keep waiting until I loose just another 30 pounds before I allow myself to enjoy my life.

    Stupid, stupid.

    I eat a near-perfect diet of 1400 calories a day. I do every exercise that I can. I’m still hovering in the mid-170’s. I’ve been hovering here for five freaking years!

    Is there any point where society allows me to feel pretty again? Is there any point where society tells me that it’s alright to feel good about myself?

    Yes. When I resemble a metabolically fit, malnourished 14 year old boy… that’s when society tells me I may feel like a worthy human being.

    I’m not competing with teenagers. I’m a *woman*, damnit!

    Screw this. I’m going shopping.

  9. 9 Ara K August 11, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    You are gorgeous!! Thank-you for all your youtube videos, they are awesome!!!! So totally always what I am always thinking. You are great! I am from Canada, and I am Fat!

  10. 10 Bella September 1, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    The shoes from Urban Outfitters—gorgeous! The color of the hummingbird dress is the kind that would make anyone feel happy. Love your style, love the clothes!
    Bella
    http://gypsyroxylee.wordpress.com/

  11. 11 Stephanie Snowe September 10, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    Oh my good Lord, I just love you. And I am SERIOUSLY coveting that dress. Gah! Fabulousness all around.

  12. 12 leah October 1, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    I love this blog and your youtube videos! Great stuff on here šŸ™‚ I am a chubby inbetweenie myself and can shop in most stores, if they carry up to a size 14/16. My 9 year old daughter is plus sized and it is so freakin hard to find cool clothes for her!! We’re planning a cruise to Mexico and I have been looking all over the internet for kids plus sized swim wear, and I must say the pickings are slim to none….any advice from anyone on here?? There seems to be lots of good fashion sources for us grown ups, but none for kids!? whats up with that??

  13. 13 Gina October 7, 2010 at 3:14 am

    I love love the red dress…and you look so glamorous.
    My aunt is plus size and it is always dificult to buy her clothes.

  14. 14 Tessa October 27, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    You are so fabulous!! I recently shared one of your videos with my friend who writes a fat-positive/angry feminist/generally awesome blog.

    http://iamoffendedbecause.blogspot.com/

    Honestly your videos are so effective at making people understand that being fat doesn’t equate with being unhealthy. I HATE when people talk about their weight in a derogatory way. I was very lucky that I was brought up by a mother who never mentioned weight in a negative way, never said bad things about her body or her looks. This (I think) protected me from our sizest culture and made me understand that my body is the way it is. Honestly any time I have lost weight it has been for negative reasons, such as being very ill or stressed. So thats why I never sound overjoyed when one of my friends proudly proclaims ‘Ive lost weight!’

    Anyhoo, so basically you are awesome!

  15. 15 snakedoctor828 March 14, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    I hope Im not being crass when I say this but you are rather beautiful and if I may say sexy.Great blog by the way.


Leave a Reply

