I really wish I had a dirndl.


Salma knows what’s up.

Is it appropriation if it’s your own heritage?
I’m not trying to be flippant and I definitely wouldnt’ wear someone else’s ethnic costume, (not that I haven’t in the past, but that’s a whole nother sordid story), but is one generation removed one generation too far?
I don’t think I want to wear an actual national costume dirndl necessarily, just something with the basic shape and a shitload of embroidery. Does that ease the sting of an American of German descent wearing something dirndl-esque? Is there a sting in the first place?

This is what I’ve been wearing in the meanwhile:

vest: torrid
skirt: re/dress
shoes: forever 21
shirt: hand me down.. maybe gap?
headband: urban outfitters


3 Responses to “I really wish I had a dirndl.”


  1. 1 silentbeep February 23, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    I say this as someone of mexican heritage: my view of my culture is that it’s in the blood, it’s in my heart, in my soul and definitely in my genes and if I were to wear something very “mexican” it would be done as an homage to my ancestors and family. I’m not quite getting where the “sting” would be in your case then, it shows an affection for your family roots IMHO. Why not?

  2. 2 Anne February 24, 2010 at 3:53 am

    You have to understand that the Dirndl is not so much a “German” heritage than a Bavarian one. It is not a “national costume”. The bavarians exported it and the Lederhose as tourist images and on Oktoberfest it is ok for nearly everyone to wear it. it is not so much taken serious by most younger germans but as a quirky bavarian costume for dress up. If you like it wear it.

  3. 3 Sarah February 26, 2010 at 10:41 am

    That skirt, that is astounding.


Leave a Reply

