More Monkeying.

So I bought this awful dress a few weeks ago.

Total mess.
Shoulder pads, a hidden button placket and a bunch of other misery. I liked the bottom half of it though, and decided to make it into just a skirt.

First I chopped it in half.

Then I bought a little spool of ribbon from the craft store.

It wasn’t as wide as I wanted it to be, so I cut it in half and sewed the sides together with my ancient little sewing machine.

Then I sewed it to the top of the bottom of the dress.

I put in a snap and a hook and eye, tied the ends of the ribbons together and tried it on with some sweaters.


The end!

28 Responses to “More Monkeying.”


  1. 1 caseyatthebat02 October 15, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    Love it!! Very inspired bit of crafting!

  2. 2 Frances October 15, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    That opening sentence and first picture is all kinds of hilarious.

  3. 3 ladyjaye October 15, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Great work! It really does make a difference!

    Funny, but I just realized that you look a lot like one of my friends, enough that you two could pass for sisters or cousins. 😀

  4. 4 awmb October 15, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    oh my god that is so cute! the fabric is so cute!!! this is one of my favourite things to do. go thrifting, and alter alter alter!!

  5. 5 JoGeek October 16, 2009 at 4:22 am

    What a truly, awesome sewing machine!!!

    I’ve got a few dresses stashed away waiting for the same treatment. I have a long waist, so my only defense against the empire nightmare is to chop dresses down into skirts or up into tops (depending on which half I like better.) The finished skirt here is super cute. Reminds me of the 50’s 🙂

  6. 6 Corinna October 16, 2009 at 5:18 am

    I am always impressed with women who do their own alterations. You bought a fugly ill-fitting dress and now you’ve got a lovely well fitting skirt. And I really like the different outfits.

    All kinds of awesome. Thanks for sharing.

  7. 8 Camille October 16, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Great job on the skirt! It’s very cute and I love the ribbons.

  8. 9 Char Lefave October 19, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    I love seeing your clothing wizardry. Do you remember how to do it? I’d love to have some more dressy skirts.

  9. 10 randomcatgirl October 19, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    Awesome job and I really like it with the red sweater. I think I’ll have to chop up some old dresses I have in the closet.

    PS – That silver dress a few posts ago was FIERCE!!

  10. 11 Kelly October 21, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    Old Singers represent. I’m sewing a pair of wool pants on my 1950 Centennial 201-2.

    Nice refashion!

  11. 12 Kelly October 25, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    I have a gray dress almost exactly like that! I am going to have to try your trick! Now if I only knew how to use a sewing machine…I guess I’ll ask my spouse, he can actually use the machine. 🙂

  12. 13 Michelle Diggs October 26, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    I am just learning about the fabulous Joy Nash. I have sent an e-mail to all my gym buddies to let them know your Fat Rant on Youtube.com
    I enjoy your blog as a pick me up on those days i feel those tiny little minds getting to me. Thank you.

  13. 14 Marie Denee October 30, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    Now aren’t you the gifted one!!!! Fantastic job with the skirt!!! It was fabulous seeing you at LYBD in Hollywood!!!!!!

    You are even more stunning in person!
    Keep it Curvy!

  14. 15 Tracy November 2, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    Really like the way the blue ribbon looks. Especially like the bottom with the red sweater top

  15. 16 Gillian November 3, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Fantastic work! It’s gorgeous. 🙂

  16. 17 amanda November 5, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    that outfit is so sweet!

    i just found this site through Bitch – so impressed and happy that there are more sexy fat girls. 😉

  17. 18 Jen November 11, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    A friend of mine rec. your blog to me and I’m already loving it! Gorgeous craftwomanship 🙂

  18. 19 Christina November 11, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    You are just amazing with your slicing and dicing – I want to be that amazing and I end up feeling like… I just butchered something. LOL

  19. 20 sexy overweighted November 13, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    how may I follwo your blog.. do you have a follow button, i cant find it!

  20. 21 TherapeuticRamblings November 15, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    WAY better look as a skirt. I wish I had a sewing machine, as I have to hem some pants. drat.

  21. 22 Moe November 20, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    It’s cute. I’m sad because my sewing machine just died. 😦

  22. 23 Natalia Cuminale November 24, 2009 at 4:37 am

    Dear Joy,

    My name is Natalia Cuminale, I’m a journalist from VEJA’s website. VEJA is the largest weekly Brazilian newsmagazine, distributed all over the country.

    I’m writing an article about fat pride and body image revolution. I know that you are a reference in this issue and I would like to know if you are interest in grant me an email or phone interview.

    I look forward for your reply

    Best wishes

    Natalia

  23. 24 Adorably Dead November 24, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Such a cute and funny pic at the top. It does make a beautiful skirt, horrible dress I agree, but gorgeous skirt. Kudos to you you awesome clothes fixer upper. ^_^

  24. 25 Debra November 26, 2009 at 4:32 am

    What a wonderful story you tell. Live your life, live healthy and let your body be what it is. You INSPIRE me. I am so in love with your sewing machines and I totally love it that you can sew. Smart, beautiful, and crafty. Girl you’ve got it all.

  25. 26 VLM November 28, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    YUMM-O-RIFIC! I love it!!!

  26. 27 Vrai December 2, 2009 at 10:50 am

    This makes me lust for a sewing machine real bad. To Craigslist!
    Also, that green sweater is AMAZING. Pray tell, where did you happen to pick it up? Still love your awesome blog. Take care!

  27. 28 Litha January 16, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    OMG, total win. You’re awesome =)


Leave a Reply

