Joy Nash on stage: OOOoogy Green and the Wonderful Ice Cream Suit!

If you’re in LA this Saturday, Oct 3rd, 2009, I will be making my Geffen Playhouse debut in “OOOoogy Green and Other Fables” as part of the Geffen’s Saturday Scene series for children!
OOOoogy Green is the story of a catepillar who nobody likes. He’s afraid to be different, but with the help of puppets, music and some fables, his friends teach him that what makes him different is what makes him special! I play a butterfly.

The original production of this show at the Celebration Theatre received a Critic’s Pick in Backstage Magazine.
The show starts at 11 am and is appropriate for kids ages 3 and up. One Performance Only!!

Oct. 3, 2009
Geffen Playhouse
10886 Le Conte Ave.
Los Angeles, CA 90024
Tickets are $15.
Call: 310-208-5454.

If you are not a child, or interested in children’s theatre, but would still like to catch me on stage, I’m also starring in Ray Bradbury’s “The Wonderful Ice Cream Suit” at the Fremont Centre Theatre in South Pasadena.

Five Latinos from East LA each chip in $20 to buy one $100 vanilla-ice-cream-white summer suit. Each has big plans for what he’ll accomplish once he looks the way he will in that suit, but trouble brews when it’s the neighborhood ne’er-do-well’s turn to wear their prized possession. I play a floozy.

LA Times review

7 more weekends of shows!
Opens on Sat Sept 26th
Closes on Nov 14th
Fri/Sat 8pm, Sun 3pm

Fremont Centre Theatre
1000 Fremont Avenue
South Pasadena, CA 91030

Ticket Prices:
$10 Preview
$20 General Admission
$15 Seniors
$10 Student

Reservations
(323) 960-4451

7 Responses to “Joy Nash on stage: OOOoogy Green and the Wonderful Ice Cream Suit!”


  1. 1 Severina October 3, 2009 at 1:35 am

    AAAAAAAHHHHHHH! I love you Joy Nash I love you! I had no idea you existed until I saw a link to one of your fat rants on Shapely Prose. It was super and uplifting and made my day. I am so excited you have a blog (I’m a fist time visitor, can you tell) and I can’t wait to learn more about you and your beautiful message. I’m a sexy, smooth size 18, I’ve been successful with my journey with Intuitive Eating so far (I can stop eating something I love! I no longer obsess over food! I can recognize what foods make me feel good, and which ones disagree with my body!), and I am learning to love myself in new and surprising ways everyday. I am so glad there is a fat-o-sphere out there with their message of love and common sense. Thank you for being a part of it and encouraging girls like me to live happy, healthy lives!

  2. 2 Sara A. October 5, 2009 at 8:52 am

    This is going to sound really weird, but were you on an episode of How do I look? to illustrate how one can be big and well dressed?

  3. 3 Joy Nash October 5, 2009 at 11:05 am

    Thanks for the kind words Severina! and yeah, Sara A.- I totally was on that episode! Good eye there- haha!

  4. 4 Stig October 11, 2009 at 10:21 am

    They made a PLAY of that story! I ADORE that story! It’s one of the best Bradbury ever wrote – a tribute to his masterful grasp of character and setting, marking him out from ‘Sci-Fi’ writers. Damn, I wish I lived in America, I’d love to see that.

    I like the thought of you playing Ruby, as I think (from what I’ve seen of your work on YouTube) that you’d probably add some dignity to the character, who gets negatively described in the story because we’re looking at it through the eyes of Martinez and his fellows.

    Break a leg!

  5. 5 Stig October 11, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Er, sorry, the first of my exclamation marks should have been a question mark…it makes me look kind of manic.

  6. 6 Sara A. October 12, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    I was watching that episode and looked up and was like, “Oh, hey I think that’s Joy Nash! Maybe she’s here to talk to this woman about fat acceptance, that would be awesome.” And then that didn’t happen and I was sad. Clearly, I live in a fantasy world where a fashion network would do that.


Leave a Reply

