Monkeying around with my clothing.

Since Anthropologie won’t make clothing in my size, I’ve gotten a little arty farty.

Last winter I brought a suitcase of stuff to sell at Re/Dress and got $270 in store credit, so I was a little less picky than I usually am when it comes to choosing clothing on which to spend my money.
I found this unbelivably comfortable, really flattering, linen/cotton knit dress in this horrifying coral/olive/cream varigated pattern and figured I’d get a little creative.
My shopping accomplice thought $50 was way too much to spend on an experiment, but in my estimation, it was free money! If it was a disaster, all I would be out was some free money.

So, first I bought a box of RIT dye and tried to get my mom to let me use her washing machine to dye it. She had a heart attack when I suggested such a thing and sent me into her kitchen with a giant pot.

The pot turned out fine and I had a fancy raspberry dress! I wore it a couple times in that state, but since it was knit, it started to get a little droopy and since it was knit, I was scared to just chop off and hem the droops. Instead, with the assistance of my duct-tape dress form, I pinched up a bunch of pieces and safety-pinned them as if my dress was a fancy wedding cake.

Then, I sewed a bunch of buttons to each other, one on either side of the fabric lumps so that the dress stress was more on the buttons and less on the knit.

I think it turned out pretty decently. I don’t know what’s gonna happen when I try to wash it.. I’ll probably wait a reaally long time, and then get it dry cleaned.



Dress: Re/Dress, dyed and weddingcaked by me!
Shoes: Ross
Bag/Earrings: Goodwill

Then I got this dress from Jen’s Fashion Plus, but I didn’t really like the roll-highlighting action it had going on. So I tied part of it in a knot and stuck a safety pin deep down inside so it wouldn’t come out, and then wrapped those side straps around front and up over my bra straps like some of that convertible-wrap dress nonsense, and that was it. I now have a fancy dress and no place to wear it to.

Anyone know any gainfully employed heterosexual bears in Southern California who might like to take me on a date?
I hear this one’s taken.

Thanks.

x-posted here n there.

15 Responses to “Monkeying around with my clothing.”


  1. 1 DataGoddess September 10, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    OMG, both dresses look fabulous!!!

  2. 2 notthemarimba September 10, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    *covets the raspberry dress*

  3. 3 Jennifer September 10, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    Wash in cold water to try to prevent bleeding. When you dye, try to find a sort of sealant, and never hang your knits. Sometimes dry cleaning can melt plastic buttons/snaps, so be sure to ask about it before you commit the dress to a dry cleaner.

  4. 4 Rachel September 11, 2009 at 5:40 am

    Wow, you are more than creative, you are fabulous!

    I admire you, and you inspire me to find a horrible garmet and do my own monkeying around.

    Duct tape dress form? What’s that?

  5. 5 jaed September 11, 2009 at 10:51 am

    Srsly cute dress scorage.

    By the way, you can use RIT in a washing machine. I’ve done it without problems and it hasn’t dyed the plastic in the agitator or anything. I usually run an empty load (extra large) with hot water and bleach afterward just to make sure there isn’t any dye still lurking.

    Duct tape dress form. Basically it’s an inexpensive way of making one of those dress forms tailors use, custom made to your size. You put on a sacrificial long t-shirt and have a confederate cover you with overlapping strips of duct tape. Then you cut the tape and t-shirt up the back so you can get out of it, and stuff the duct-tape with something, and you have a dress form that matches your size.

  6. 6 bweitze September 12, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    I really like the second dress!

  7. 7 Vanessa September 15, 2009 at 5:50 am

    Both of those dresses are great (and you’re gorgeous!), and I love how you altered the silver one– especially the ties twisted around your bra straps. That’s really clever.

  8. 8 magickalrealism September 16, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    I am in awe. I’m always terrified to try to adjust my clothing when it doesn’t suit me – I’m convinced I need like a million years of sewing training.

  9. 9 Laura McKibbin September 17, 2009 at 4:23 am

    Kelly Bliss recently posted a link to “Confessions of the Compulsive” youtube video. Love you, love Kelly, love the fine ladies in the compulsive behavior support group. I can’t WAIT to share with the food nazis I know. THANK YOU!

  10. 11 alegra September 19, 2009 at 10:30 am

    loving both outfits! i just came across deena’s version, you’re a trend setter.
    xxx

  11. 12 Flea September 23, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    Wow I really like the raspberry one!! That color is soo awesome! The second one reminds me of a Roman Goddess-ee dress. Its a great color too

  12. 13 Shannon Russell September 30, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Va Va Va Voooooooooooooooooooooooooom!

    Peace,
    Shannon

  13. 14 Faith October 23, 2009 at 11:51 am

    First off, Anthropologie is owned by a right wing, homophobic ass, so our fat bucks are better spent elsewhere.

    Second: those outfits are fab!

    Third: So are you!!

  14. 15 VLM November 28, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    Both dresses look grrreat! You’re as talented as you are beautiful! Luke Conley – don’t know him, but he’s H0OOOOOOOOOOOOT! 🙂


Leave a Reply

