Mariko Takahashi’s Fitness Video for Being Appraised as an “Ex-Fat Girl” & a Memorial of Sorts.

Mariko Takahashi’s Fitness Video for Being Appraised as an “Ex-Fat Girl”

So this freaky little video has been around a long long time, and I was mesmerized from the get-go. But I found out yesterday, that it’s purported to be a word-for-word parody of Susan Powter’s first “Stop the Insanity!” video. And now I love it even more.

This is the only early-90’s Susan Powter video I could find:

Obviously not the one parodied, but the “Ex-Fat Girl” photos are eerily similar aren’t they?

Poking around for more info, I found out that Nagi Noda, the jaw-droppingly talented video director, passed away last weekend.
My lord, the things that brewed in her head… Catwalk Shadows.. Hair Hats…



More hair hats if you need.

aaron stewart ahn, posted at antville


I was lucky enough to have met Nagi. It was one of the more interesting evenings in my life. What was supposed to be a short chat over coffee turned into an up til 3am ramble on just about everything. One time meeting a person is never enough, but she was extremely endearing.

Nagi exuded and lived art, as it was something to be lived. It made me feel like an amateur – so connected was her feeling about life invested in what she wanted to do. She had no barriers, pretty much laid as much of her life story in our awkward English (littered with impressive words) as she could. She talked about the unfairness of being a female director, how she felt she had to act twenty times as tough as she was just to get the modicum of respect necessary to do her job. She told me about the start of her artistic life lived with her parents – both artists themselves who had given her a sense of how difficult it can be to navigate the world of art. She also talked about the need for artists to not be divorced from the divine, past lives, a recent trip to Angkor Wat so full of meaning – which planted the seed in my head which led to me shooting there in my last video.

The drawing above was something she put down on the napkin in front of me – she told me it was the secret to the universe, but I shouldn’t tell anyone. I think it’s ok now. She said most of us look out at the world, but if you close your eyes and look up, you’re looking at the universe through your mind, looking at the universe.

She struck me as free spirited, eccentric, and beneath it all incredibly strong. In one evening in her company she affected me greatly. I miss her.

6 Responses to “Mariko Takahashi’s Fitness Video for Being Appraised as an “Ex-Fat Girl” & a Memorial of Sorts.”


  1. 1 ladyjaye75 September 12, 2008 at 3:38 am

    Panasonic sponsored that parody, which was produced for the 2004 Olympics? (at least that’s what it says on the youtube page for the video) Wow! 😛

    Whenever I see Susan Powter’s name mentioned (not very often, mind you), I think of that interview and section about her in the excellent book Losing It by Laura Fraser.

  2. 2 Dan September 16, 2008 at 3:08 am

    Wow that catwalk shadow picture is AMAZING!!!!! I love it.

    Oh how I remember thinking Susan Powter was like a god back in the day. Just dont eat fat but eat as much as you want. Looking back now I was such a sucker. But hey any hope will do when your desperate for something.

  3. 3 nati October 26, 2008 at 6:29 am

    first of all Nagi Noda is my hero. thank you for this blog! Secondly, the reason the two “before” photos look similar is cuz like down syndrome children fat chicks all look alike…didn’t you get the memo?

  4. 4 Jackie November 26, 2008 at 2:06 am

    I’m wondering, did Nagi Noda work on designing the cover art for Bjork’s album Medulla? The house made out of hair, reminded me of some of the artwork done for that album.

  5. 5 Cheshire Gym August 20, 2009 at 8:31 am

    that hair house is absolutley amazing- truly a sight to behold

  6. 6 Britax Car September 26, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Stop the insanity!!! That brings back some memories


Leave a Reply

