Rachel Pally Part Deux

Well, I went to the sale, and it was awesome and I am utterly PISSED OFF at myself.
It was a total peer pressure madhouse in there!! The clothing was gorgeous, but NOTHING cost less than $80. EIGHTY BUCKS!!
But I’m wandering around, and I figure, I’m there, I might as well try things on… So I do, and I feel like a princess, and I think, “well, it is normally a $260 dress… It is really really nice. I remember the day I was goofing off in the dressing room at Nordstrom (anybody else do that?). It’s not like I can buy anything, so I just try the fabulous things on and prance about in front of the mirrors, pretending I have occasion and means to wear clothing like this. Anyway, this particular dress I’m holding (now at 70%) off, is exactly the dress I was crazy about the most like 5 months ago on that dressing room escapade.
And there are other women there with ARMFULS of clothing. I run into my friend who shows me all $600 worth of the stuff she’s getting. She’s spending SIX HUNDRED DOLLARS!!
I start rationalizing/ freaking out: WHAT IF I DON’T GET THIS DRESS (and also this other one)??? WHAT IF i CAN’T STOP THINKING ABOUT IT?? WHAT IF THERE’S NEVER ANY OTHER DRESSES FOR ME TO WEAR EVER EVER AGAIN!?? EVER!!?
So I buy the fucking things and run out of there and proceed to beat myself up for the next 3 days.
$210 is half the tuition of a voiceover class. It’s more than I ever intend to spend on a digital camera (I would like one slightly smaller than the brick of cream cheese I currently use). RENT is due in another 2 weeks. The smartcar place called and said my smartcar is going to be arriving far sooner than I thought it would. How am I possibly going to afford it??!!
WHAT HAVE I DONE!!!??
Blugghh.
But it’s friggin DONE already. You can’t return dresses you’ve bought at a sample sale.
And they’re really really nice dresses…
I’m going to wear those dresses every single day for the next six months, and then it will be as if I’m only paying $1.16 per day. That’s if I wear them both every day. And I will. I’ll have a mid-afternoon costume change. And people will think I’m much less strange than if they just saw me in the same exact dress every day.
The green print dress:

and the Statue of Liberty Dress:

which I so lovingly chopped my feet off in.

If you’d like to experience the same self-flagellation as I currently am, you can visit the ADDITIONAL day of the sale tomorrow 8/23 from 10 to 5. All the details are on the flyer in the last post.

41 Responses to “Rachel Pally Part Deux”


  1. 1 Danielle August 22, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    This is my first time commenting here. Just wanted to say Wow, really gorgeous!!! I especially love the second dress. Hot mama!!

  2. 2 Debutante August 22, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    $210 is not so much in the big scheme of things, really. There are plenty of opportunities to make more money, but how many designer, plus-size sample sales are there out there? And those dresses are AMAZING (the statue of liberty is to-die-for). You HAD To buy them. You HAD to. The last time I was in NY I went to LeeLee’s Valise and spent about double your $210 (and I work in literary publishing in Portland, so I’m making just about the same amount of $ as a struggling actor in LA). But I kept telling myself I deserved it because when was the last time I was in a trendy boutique that carried every beautiful article of clothing in my size? Uh, never. (Whose over-indulgence am I justifying anyway?) But my point is guilt, scmuilt. Pretty dresses are important.

  3. 3 integgy August 22, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    They are both Gorgeous dresses (yes, gorgeous with a capital “G”), and you look absolutely fabulous in them. But if nothing was less than $80, I’m glad I didn’t end up going (because damn, I’m such a cheapskate bargain hunter, that I would have spent 3 hours drooling, and walked out with nothing xD). But I also say, it’s good to treat yourself to something every so often, and just as Debutante said, pretty dresses ARE important. 🙂

  4. 4 atiton August 22, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Oh my stars, Joy, but you look lovely!

  5. 5 kate217 August 22, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    So where’s the Donate button on your site? I’d certainly pony up for any of these most excellent of causes. (Besides, I think that I undoubtedly owe you an entertainment fee by now.)

  6. 6 Godless Heathen August 22, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    “the Statue of Liberty Dress”

    I saw that one when I looked at Rachel Pally’s design site and I just died from wanting it (and not ever being able to wear it)! Seriously, it’s an investment, you look so awesome in it!

  7. 7 Des August 22, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    OMG! The “Statue of Liberty” dress is amazing!!! I love everything about it and you look amazing in it! ❤

  8. 8 Amy August 22, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    That second dress is AMAZING, and totally worth however much you paid for it. The color is just gorgeous on you. Seriously, money well spent!

  9. 9 Joy Nash August 22, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    Wow! You guys are awesome for my ego and cruel cruel cruel to my poor little wallet. 🙂

    I’m kinda crazy about that green dress too.. best part, it feels like I’m wearing a giant T shirt… well, except for the draconian engineering marvel that is the Cacique Bra6.

  10. 10 Rachel August 23, 2008 at 6:34 am

    I had to comment just to say how awesome you look in both those dresses.

  11. 11 PBLUV August 23, 2008 at 7:28 am

    Truly Joy, you are rocking both dresses and the reason I get so excited about such sales is I would never ever pay full price for even things I love, I am genetically predisposed to not be able to. It hurts my heart..really. Every now and again we gotta suffer a bit for loveliness but never the rent…you will have these 2 pieces forever, the statue of liberty dress will be your go to one btw.. don’t dry them in the dryer!

  12. 12 hallie August 23, 2008 at 9:34 am

    WOW. those are amazing!

    i hear you, babe. you’ve probably already told yourself that 5% of your wardrobe does 90% of the work (rationalize, rationalize) but how much have you spent over a lifetime on clothes that you barely wore and then donated/threw out/gave away? a lot, probably; i have. i buy nearly everything i wear at goodwill, and for a long time i wasn’t very wise about it. because whatever i was holding/debating was *only* $6 or whatever – so it didn’t matter that it wasn’t ideal, or had some terrible flaws, because for $6 i would let that garment get away with a lot. including stinking of whatever disinfectant crap they spray on everything that takes months to wash out.

    supposing instead i spent that dough on just a couple things i really loved and ROCKED on me (like these do on you) it’d be a better investment. right? right??!?

    that’s my story and i’m sticking to it.

    the green print is my fave.

  13. 13 DayBlue August 23, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Hey Joy! You’re gorgeous! The second one is amazing and will work for years to come, so it has time to pay itself back – think amazing dress-to-impress picnics with friends or promo shoots and what-ever-shoots and basicly what ever. Dresses like that are meant to make the occation. Kind of like women like you! 😉 And the first one is so versatile with different tops and wraps and what-ever-you-call-them.

    Total over use of the frase “what ever” from my part but if you excuse my English. (I’m Finnish whitch serves as an exotic I-really-speak-a-hobbit-language excuse.)

  14. 14 viragobites August 23, 2008 at 10:09 am

    You look absolutely gorgeous in both dresses, the Statue of Liberty is just divine! *want*

    Worth every penny. I wish I had access to such prettiness in the UK

  15. 15 buffpuff August 23, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    “WHAT IF I DON’T GET THIS DRESS (and also this other one)??? WHAT IF i CAN’T STOP THINKING ABOUT IT?? WHAT IF THERE’S NEVER ANY OTHER DRESSES FOR ME TO WEAR EVER EVER AGAIN!?? EVER!!?”

    Well exactly! I mean please!! I also subscribe to the ‘cost per wear” theory. I once spent an insane amount of money on a watch; a Georg Jensen watch. Okay I could afford it at the time but it still made me feel sick as a pig when I got my credit card bill. But I promise you I have worn that watch pretty much every day for the last 21 years. And beat up as it is, I still love it. And no one – but no one could look as fabulous inthat Statue of Liberty number as you do.

    Repeat after us: “I did the riiiiight thing”

  16. 16 Bekbek August 23, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    My sad story will make you feel vindicated in your purchase choice. Once, lo these many years ago, I found this FREAKING! GORGEOUS! pinstripe ballgown. I was in love. I am generally a thrift store shopper and clothing reconstructionist, I could not wrap my mind around the idea of spending more than a hundred dollars on one clothing item, no matter how glorious. I even saw it on clearance, but it was still too much, size was a little too big, lalala I am not looking, etc. I did not buy it, I have seen nothing like it in years since. It is a regret I will live with forever .Okay, it’s a minor regret and I am being a little melodramatic, but still, I can always make more money, but I can’t find that wonderful dress to spend it on.

  17. 17 fatchic August 23, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Personally, I’m glad you chose the dresses. You look fantastic, and looking fantastic will hopefully get you more job opportunities in your line of work.

  18. 18 Alex August 24, 2008 at 4:12 am

    Now you did it. This post brings me out of lurkerdom! You look AMAZING in both dresses, but I especially love the second one on you. If I were you, I would only ever wear the Statue of Liberty dress for the rest of my live :)Although, the mid-afternoon clothes change is a great idea, too!
    I’m not one of the “cost per wear” people, I’m more like “Will I regret not buying it more than buying it?” That works really well for me, because I always end up paying off my credit card rates, but not buying that perfect handbag/hat/whatever will haunt me for YEARS. Nothing I buy is ever as good as the one that got away … So yeah, well done on buying those dresses!

  19. 19 Divinyl August 24, 2008 at 5:45 am

    $80 is about £40, right?? For THAT dress?

    I’m talking of the ‘Statue of Liberty’ one…such a gorgeous colour and shape. You look fabulous dahleenk!

    Totally worth it…and I bet it makes you smile just owning it…which makes it money well spent (despite the guilt!). x

  20. 20 kirsten August 24, 2008 at 7:35 am

    but they look fabulous! well worth it in my opinion.

  21. 21 Sarah G. August 24, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    you look amazing in those dresses…it truely sucks that CT does not have any sales for rachel pally clothes…

  22. 22 sharolyn August 25, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Okay, as much as it sucks you spent money you didn’t want to… YOW MAMA! Those dresses ROCK!

  23. 23 Holly August 25, 2008 at 9:21 am

    One day when you wear the “SoL” dress to the oscars or the emmys or for your newest red carpet walk you will be sooo glad you bought it because it is FAB U LOUS !!!!

  24. 24 Tobes August 27, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    So worth it… you are a vision of radiance! Thanks for blogging and doing what you do. It makes me happy 🙂

    PS: I wish they had sample says like this in ND where I live. We have one lane bryant store in my town– no torrid or anything else. Sometimes I get lucky and find something in Macy’s women section or plus size close at Maurices but anything that stunning— no way!

  25. 25 Sue August 28, 2008 at 10:53 am

    It is great that you have such self-esteem that you can wear figure enhancing clothes. The dresses are very pretty. I am always trying to cover myself up because I am self-conscious about my weight. Sometimes I feel I only have the right to buy clothes at WalMart and Goodwill because of my weight. I wouldn’t have the nerve to dress as nice as you do.

  26. 26 Divinyl August 29, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Sue…

    …then take an example from Joy here! See how fantastic she looks? It’s true…you can too! Hold your head up high, be proud of who you are, and wear what the hell you like!

    Curves are sexy…know it yourself, and others will see that too :o)

  27. 27 Jezebelvintage September 3, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Yep, you’ll need that statue of liberty dress for your first awards show for your acting!!! It is a stunner and I would have bought just that one for $210, easily, if it looked like that on me! So consider you got the first one free? haha

  28. 28 girlgriot September 7, 2008 at 7:50 am

    Both dresses are great, but that second dress? Unbelievably gorgeous. I, too, would have spent the whole $210 on that one alone. Well, no, I probably would have spent so much time agonizing over spending the money that some other (much smarter) woman would have come around and bought the thing out from under me. You look fabulous in both dresses … but you look fab in every photo I’ve seen of you, so no surprise there.

  29. 29 Me September 10, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    OK that second dress is TO DIE FOR gorgeous! Congrats!

  30. 30 Maisha September 29, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    Hi Ladies,

    This is my first time posting on this site! I love it Joy! Anywho, I know I’m a month late, but wanted to give you all a few Rachel Pally pointers as I am a die hard RP fan!!! Nordstrom has recently had a second markdown on lots of items inlcuding the statue of liberty dress. Some of the second markdown prices are better than the warehouse sale prices. Be sure to check out nordstrom.com to see the items on sale. You should also check out ebay for RP items. You would be surprised at the prices. I recently purchased a top for $30.00 that I paid $65 for at the sale. I also wanted to point out that if you see a top (or even a dress for that matter) from the regular line and it has a generous cut, try it on!!!! After you pick your mouth up from how amazing you look in the item, you will ravage through everything and try it on because it will fit! I am a serious 3X, 26/28 up top thanks to my J cups and I have found tops that I fit in LARGE. Yes, LARGE. I have several pieces from the regular line and look fabulous wearing them! I went to the last sale 3 times and spent a lot of money but I rationalize it by saying how much I saved! Anywho, those are my RP thoughts. Hope they help. And Joy-you look great in that one shoulder-I am so jealous because the girls could never rock it like you are!

  31. 31 Caroline October 5, 2008 at 8:29 am

    oh my goddess
    that statue of liberty dress is positively *stunning*

  32. 32 Regina October 11, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    I am *SO* glad you got those dresses. They look amazing on you… I am in love with the statue of liberty one; and you skin is gorgeous! No need to feel too guilty about buying them. I can understand the feeling of I just spent how much on clothes when I have this, this and this to pay for. But, seriously, those dresses look like they were MADE for YOU!

  33. 33 Lori October 25, 2008 at 7:44 am

    Wow – that green dress is tres hot.

  34. 34 Chris November 9, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Even though this comment is so, so late I just HAD to tell you that you look beyond stunning in that long teal dress.

    Those glorified stick-bugs called models have got nothing on you. Nada.

  35. 35 VLM November 9, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    That “Statue of Liberty” dress alone is worth it! Extreme gorgeousness!!! I like Pally’s style, too, so one day, I’ll buy something!

  36. 36 Maisha December 4, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Ladies! The Rachel Pally Warehouse sale is going on this weekend! I went today and spent too much but love my items!

  37. 37 Amy January 21, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    I’ve just found your blog and love it!! I was instantly captivated by your photos in these dresses. They are gorgeous and you look amazing in them! I am now officially obsessed with getting some Rachel Pally items of my own. Scouring e-bay and Nordstrom Rack to try and score.

  38. 38 beamy85 January 30, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    I love both dresses! You have some talent girl! I think you are so beautiful and love the Fat Rant videos. You GO GIRL!!!

  39. 39 Michelle May 4, 2009 at 11:59 am

    You look truly stunning in both dresses!

  40. 40 Jennifer August 19, 2009 at 11:44 am

    i love the joke about you buying a smart car.


Leave a Reply

