Rachel Pally sample sale!

I’ve never been to a sample sale before, but someone posted about this on fatshionista and I had to spread the word.

I’m going to try and go tomorrow.
Rachel Pally is normally way way way out of my price range, but I found a wrap top at Nordstrom Rack a month or so ago…

I wore it to my high school reunion. The fit is AMAZING and everything’s in this gorgeous rayon jersey. (The LA Times calls it “buttery” on her press page). She’s one of the few (but growing!) designers doing interesting things for plus sizes.
I figure it can’t hurt to try my luck! 🙂
Maybe I’ll see some of you there!

19 Responses to “Rachel Pally sample sale!”


  1. 1 CordyQ August 15, 2008 at 9:05 am

    That looks amazing on you! You look so totally gorgeous! What a great advert for Rachel Pally it makes me wish I lived there so I could go and see what they have. I will be sending you good clothes hunting wishes from over here in colorado though 😛

  2. 2 integgy August 15, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Oooh, that looks sooooo very tempting. I wonder how large her plus size collection pieces go to?

  3. 3 Joy Nash August 15, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    well I’m an 18/20 and that top I’ve got is a 1X. I think I should have gotten a 2X, but I couldn’t find one at the Rack. I know she goes to 3X, and everything is so soft and stretchy- So definitely a 22/24, possibly a 26/28 could find things no problem.

  4. 4 PBLUV August 15, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    Well did you go??? I swear I saw you there!! I made out well was there for 3 hours..wow and got a sleeveless long caftan dress, 2 short caftan dresses, sailor pants which I am wearing right now and a few tops. I wanted a cardigan she has and just one more long dress, so might go back tomorrow but I can’t imagine what would be left,the women on Thursday were on a mission. I was surprised that I did not love that leaf pattern long dress in the blue or the orange, still maybe a solid one, I got the white/fuschia/turquoise one. You btw are stunning!

  5. 5 Alana August 15, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    That is a fabulous outfit – you look great!! Good luck at the sale.

  6. 6 Joy Nash August 15, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    oh no!!! I was trying to find someone to drag along with me all day… The plan is to head over tomorrow afternoon, but maybe I should try and be there when they open…
    What sizes did they have? And is stuff still pretty pricey? 😦

  7. 7 Rachel August 15, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    I’m the person who originally posted on zaftig socal, and I’m glad that you’re planning on going, Joy (long time fan, first time poster). I’m not sure if they’re restocking during the sale — things did seem to be going fast during the Thursday morning feeding frenzy, and I overheard one woman working sale saying to another, “White Label (the plus size line) is going to sell out.” So you might want to call the number on the flyer and ask if there’s much left.

    I got the yellow shoulder tie dress and the long blue leaf print sleeveless dress. I really love Rachel Pally’s clothes — they’re soft and flowing and totally awesome, and as a sewing-impaired short person I like that you can allegedly cut excess length off the bottom of the garment without it fraying. I haven’t tried it yet, but I intend to on the long blue leaf print sleeveless dress I got at the sale. Wish me luck!

  8. 8 PBLUV August 15, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    Well the plus size dresses cost more than the regular size, by 10 bucks or so. GRRRR. The long dresses were 75-120 each.
    The short dresses ran between 50-85 each. Big, big discounts from retail. I am not certain the prices would go down anymore. They had a section for the plus size with not a ton of different choices 2-3 versions of the long sleeveless caftan, a few short dresses, the sailor pants, the wide leg pants, hooded cardigan. But this was towards the end of the first day, now its been 2 days, I have no idea. I am a 14/16, more a 16 on top and I could wear certain Larges so I looked thru alot of the regular sizes. Wish she had a XL, but she does not.
    I’m for sure going first thing in the morning to see what is left. For all I got I spent 356 bucks, but one of her dresses at Nordstrom’s is 255, so I felt I made out well.
    Also there were a few dresses in the cute pattern you have on. The Spring 08 collection was the most complete, I saw pretty much every piece in it there, but again all in xs-L.

  9. 9 Joy Nash August 15, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Rachel! Thank you so much for posting about it! How did you hear about it in the first place? I gotta get the scoop on more stuff like this! 🙂
    I just called the number and much to my surprise a very nice man answered to (at 10:45pm)- and said that they have a “very strong selection” in plus sizes. So! I’m gettin my but in gear bright and early 🙂
    That is SO COOL that it won’t fray when you cut it!!
    I think I’m gonna die tomorrow 🙂

  10. 10 Joy Nash August 15, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    Oh my lord PBLUV, you are HARDCORE!!
    say hi if you see me tomorrow!

  11. 11 PBLUV August 16, 2008 at 7:11 am

    Joy…I am up and going…I will look for you and say hello ..get a bin when you get there…grab all you wanna try on first and toss it into the bin and go into the dressing room its communal and try on. I had 2o items, literally. It will help you alot to do that way if that room is full, you can find a corner. I also have cut off my pants and no fraying.
    Good luck, have fun!

  12. 12 PBLUV August 17, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    I have no shame Joy, I missed you if you were there…darn it!
    I actually had as good a day saturday as I did on thursday and got more!! The highlight was chatting with Rachel herself and her amazingly cute family! I think liking them so much made me buy more lol. Also some things were marked down, by 10-20 bucks.

  13. 13 kate217 August 18, 2008 at 9:35 am

    I’d comment on how hard you’re rocking that top if I didn’t suspect that you’d rock a burlap bag just as much. 😀

  14. 14 Always In Style August 18, 2008 at 11:33 am

    You look great – I wish I was in L.A. so I could go to this sale!

  15. 15 Joy Nash August 19, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    PBLUV we must have just missed eachother!
    I was there from 10 to 11 or so.
    What all did you get? I think I’m going to post some pictures tomorrow or so..

  16. 16 PBLUV August 19, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Oh gosh Joy..want the list? another pair of the wide leg pants, a few more tops and a really lovely navy maxi dress that I have no idea what its called but love it. A obi belt and a wrap Scary thing is given more time I would have gotten one of her full skirts.
    I look forward to seeing your pics and seeing what you got! 🙂

  17. 17 Deborah November 19, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    I have been dying to go to a sample sale os Rachel Pally’s (even though I’m in NC). The green dress looks so worth it and very pretty on you. You’ll get good use of it. Stop by and visit Plus Size Plum, please. We’ve posted a new blog about the inspiration, photo shoot, etc. The “midnight plum” babydoll has a built in bra for up to DDD and 5 beautiful han sewn rosettes with a sexy matching thong. I tried to fulfill everything on a BBW’s wishlist.

    Happy Thanksgiving!
    Deborah

  18. 18 Michelle May 4, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    I love this top on you! You look terrific!

  19. 19 Janis Christie December 7, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Hi

    I just wanted to mention my own clothing label, SKULLZ LONDON. I`m a little cottage sized label that caters exclusively for plus sized women. You can currently find Skullz on ebay. Just type Skullz London in the search engine to find me. I`m also on Facebook. Its not the run of the mail granny style plus sized clothing. Its super funky & unlike anything you`ve ever seen before. Please give us a look. We`re a tiny company, just started out & know plus sized women will love us. Thank you Janis


Leave a Reply

