Fat Rant on DVD

So I’ve been spending this week at the NAAFA convention here in LA.. and it’s been seriously awesome. Some people have expressed interest in owning DVD copies of my videos – so I figured I’d throw some together and open it up to the internet as well 🙂

If you’re interested:
The DVD will be $10 plus $2 S&H and have 20 minutes of Fat Ranting 🙂
— that’s the original Fat Rant,
— Fat Rant 2: Confessions of the Compulsive,
— Fat Rant 3: Staircase Wit, and
— Totally Awesome
all in a higher quality formatting for DVD.
Just leave a comment below and I’ll email you a paypal invoice!

20 Responses to “Fat Rant on DVD”


  1. 1 badgerthegnome July 13, 2008 at 10:40 am

    I am totally interested! Your work is amazing. How long are you going to have the DVD’s available?

  2. 2 Karen July 13, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    I would love a DVD copy!! Thanks!

    I hid your email here- but I’ve got you on my list. I’ll be emailing soon! –Joy

  3. 3 ken July 14, 2008 at 2:01 am

    I think you are right, “IT’S NOT ABOUT SIZE!”
    The convention goes, “LEAN AND MEAN…FAT AND HAPPY.”
    It’s whatever YOU… LIKE.
    M
    GOOD LUCK,

  4. 4 jamboree July 15, 2008 at 2:05 am

    What about the UK? *sobs*

  5. 5 Karrie July 16, 2008 at 1:47 am

    I’m totally interested, but was wondering: Would shipping and handling be the same if you ship it outside the US, or would it cost more?

  6. 6 Joy Nash July 16, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    It will probably cost a little more. Are you in the UK as well?

  7. 7 Karrie July 16, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Nope, I live in Singapore, though I just realised I could probably order it and have it delivered to my boyfriend’s – he lives in MA 🙂

  8. 8 Amy July 17, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    Please send me invoice for the DVD also, please. I know a LOT of people who desperately need this…and it’d be great to have on DVD for days when I need it again. It was really life-changing to see so
    THANK YOU and keep up the great work!
    Amy 🙂

  9. 9 plainsfeminist July 24, 2008 at 6:57 am

    Yes, please! I use this in my Women’s Studies classes, and it’s easier to deal with on a DVD, since sometimes the clip can take a while to load…

  10. 10 burnsrunner July 29, 2008 at 3:21 am

    What a wonderful idea, the DVD sounds awesome.

    I have been so pro body image acceptance lately. Maybe it is because I am finding healthier places to put my thoughts. My first place of inspiration came from a great book titled Embracing Your Big Fat Ass, by Laura Banks and Janette Barber.

    Love the book, love the authors. This is the funniest and most empowering book I’ve ever read, and who knew such a white hot funny book, EBFA, could be so serious that it could change the way I feel about myself?

  11. 11 E. August 1, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    I love your video so much; I’ve really been needing an outlet lately. I’m not fat in medical terms- I’m 5’6 and 135 pounds and I just turned fifteen a couple of weeks ago- but it’s hard to hold on to that knowledge when I’m bombarded every day by a storm of skinny-limbed Amazons. And the hardest part, harder even than seeing the implausibly emaciated bodies littered around the pages of Vogue like Popsicle sticks after a Fourth of July party, is logging onto Facebook and seeing the bodies of so many girls thinner than me, watching shows like Friends or Scrubs and seeing that the so-called “normal woman’s” body is at least fifteen pounds thinner than mine, watching skinny friends parade around looking adorable in shorts and tank tops while I dress to cover my ass. Everything around me says that unless I look like Blake Lively in a pair of blue jeans, I am not worthy of anything- and I’m ESPECIALLY not worthy of love. I have never had a boyfriend or even come close (the shock! The horror!) and it’s just so EASY to blame my body, instead of admitting to myself that maybe the reason is that I’m very shy until you get to know me, and tend to be awkward around guys after six years at a girls’ school. In books and movies, the painfully shy girl is always drawn out by a mysteriously handsome guy, cue sun, fun, roll credits, everlasting love. Well, guess what? The painfully shy girl IS ALWAYS THIN. If a chunkier girl wants love, she’s got to be a cute, fun, spunky vaudeville act. I don’t have “easy-pretty” facial features, I can’t flirt, and I can be awkward sometimes. Guess what? That’s me- and I am TIRED of beating myself up for eating a fistful of M&Ms, of staring at the always-too-thick reflection of my calves in every available shiny surface when I wear a new dress, of pulling long tank tops low around my ass and dying of heat in Spanx on sunny days and always, always, always seeing myself as a “work in progress” (in ten more pounds my life can start!) instead of a complete person. Even when I was young and truly skinny, I hated my body- I can’t remember why, seeing as I was a Twizzler, but I remember the feeling of self-loathing. I remember going on a Tic-Tac-only diet in sixth grade. Sixth grade, for Christ’s sake! Well, I’m going to try to change the way I look at myself and my body and see myself not as a work in progress, not as a one-day-might-be-cute, not as an automatic zero because my jeans size is an eight, but as a hot girl. I know Betty Friedan probably wouldn’t approve- shouldn’t I strive to be more than just a hot girl?- but since I was young, I’ve been unhealthily obsessed with being “hot.” When guys look at me on the street, it makes me feel good, I’m not ashamed to admit that. Sometimes I wear low-cut tops and push-up bras, because guess what? I go to school with fleets of girls who look perfect in short shorts, and I’m sick of hating myself, of staring down at my legs in disgust, of covering up. It’s not normal, I know, and I’m not saying that being “hot” (whoever came up with that ridiculous word?) would be enough to satisfy me. I’d rather win a Pulitzer than be Model of the Year, I can say that honestly. I’d rather be smart than pretty- there’s that ridiculous age-old question answered. I don’t need a bicycle and I’m doing it for myself and yadda yadda yadda. It’ all true, but it doesn’t make my wish to be more attractive any less true. It’s vain and shallow and stupid, but there it is, and I know I’ll feel better the day I can look at myself in the mirror (WITHOUT losing a pound, WITHOUT changing my diet, WITHOUT changing a thing except the way I look at myself) and say- I’M HOT. And if anyone else is reading this, so are you.

  12. 12 realista August 24, 2008 at 11:52 am

    just using here as a place to thank you. i saw the rants on youtube (along with Totally Awesome) and it really cracked me up and made me feel better. in all honesty, i’m fat, hairy, and bipolar so pretty much the trifecta of social stigmatisation; it’s nice to have someone occasionally confirm my humanity. keep on rockin’ your adorable self, sista!

  13. 13 Simon Fletcher September 15, 2008 at 3:40 am

    Hi Joy!

    I’d love a copy of your DVD if you’re happy to ship all the way to sunny Australia?

    Regards, Simon.

  14. 14 Plain(s)feminist January 9, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Joy – I never got an invoice from you. Please send me one – I want to show this to my class this semester. Thanks!

  15. 15 Charles January 29, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    Hey Joy,

    you have done an amazing amount of work on this website. I think that you look excellent and deep down inside are a little hurt by what society does to females making them think what the ideal way to be is.

    I’m not giving you charity, i’m giving you facts. For what it’s worth i’m one of the many who would prefer to be seen out with someone like yourself rather than a “trophy”

    All the best to you!

  16. 16 np January 30, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    What a smart, funny, validating video! I’d love to show it at our Body Image Awareness Week event on campus. Can we add it to a compliation of other short clips for public display to raise awareness? (Would it be technologically possible to rip from your DVD to add to the collection which will be burned to a single disc?)

  17. 17 Rob Cox May 11, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    Hi Joy,

    I saw you mentioned NAAFA. Great organization and lots of fun activities. I used to be very active in the Baltimore MD chapter when it existed. Sadly, not around anymore. Anyway, I was wondering if you were going to make it out to the east coast NAAFA convention this year? I’d love to be able to meet you.

    Sincerely,

    Rob Cox

  18. 18 Amy July 7, 2009 at 9:32 am

    I love your videos! I am trying to get my techno-phobic mother on board with FA, and would love a copy of the DVD. Please email me an invoice when you get the chance.

    Thank you again for creating this.

  19. 19 Naomi October 17, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    I would like to buy a copy!

  20. 20 Holly Lowe October 19, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    please invoice me for two discs plus shipping to hawaii 96706. Thanks!!


Leave a Reply

