It worked!

A while ago, I blogged about the Fatshion Paradise that is the Fox Hills Mall. It’s a fat girl’s promised land that in November was lacking only in a Torrid.
And they put one in!!!
I’m moving to Culver City.
Also, like 3 or 4 years ago, I purchased this little navy bolero at Torrid that I proceeded to wear the shit out of. I was all weird and nervous when I bought it because I was paying full price, and it wasn’t even an entire shirt and and it didn’t even have buttons and and and. But I did it, and it basically turned out to be the best thing that ever happened to me.

(On the left). 😉
I wear it with dresses and tank tops and corsets and bustiers.. I wear it with bathing suits.. I can’t get enough of it.
So naturally, it’s faded beyond belief and kind of torqued and every single time I put it on I moan about how I wished I’d bought a spare when it was in the store.
I was seriously considering taking it to a dressmaker and having her pull it apart and make me 6 of them.
But now… Ladies and Gentlemen…
It has returned.

In WHITE AND BLACK!!!
I don’t know if you understand how rare this is. Never ever ever ever everEVER have I seen a big chain bring back the EXACT SAME ITEM YEARS LATER.
I haven’t seen it in the flesh yet, but as soon as I do, I’m probably going to buy 2 black ones, and like 7 white ones so I can dye them every shade my little heart desires.
Oh Torrid, won’t you send me some free boleros?? (size 2)
xoxox

8 Responses to “It worked!”


  1. 1 Noe May 13, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Way to work the freebies, Joy 😉

    I used to live in Culver City before moving to New Zealand. If I were to eva’ return to LA…it would be there.

  2. 2 Sass May 13, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    They have a few tops like that over at Fashion Overdose too (www.fashionoverdose.com). I just ordered this one, but they’re all really cute plus it’s cool to support a smaller fashion company from time to time.

  3. 3 littlem May 13, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    I do that. If there’s something that looks fabbo on the frame, and one can afford it, I don’t understand the compunctions against buying six of them. Especially if they come in different colors, but also if they come in the same color since if something looks fabbo on eventually you will wear it out wearing it.

    And Joy, may I say that you’re wearing the he** out of it. It looks better than you than on the Torrid model. (You are modeling right now, yes?)

    P.S. As we face the picture, you’re on the right.

  4. 4 The Rotund May 14, 2008 at 5:41 am

    Oh, that is the mad cutest bolero. I feel the need for it in chartreuse. *plots*

  5. 5 Joy Nash May 15, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Sass, Fashion Overdose is SO great. I really love a lot of their stuff.. and I’m allll about supporting smaller businesses- but I’m beserk over this particular shrug. 😦 If somebody else wants to knock it off (hint hint hint) I would be all over that shizzz… 😉

    littlem! That is hilarious. I so completely didn’t catch that like 6 times over.. fix fix fix

  6. 6 jesussavesispend May 22, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Are you the woman who did that fabulous “I’m fat!” video? The reason I ask is that the dress in the picture of you on this post looks like one of the dresses that was worn in that video. That was *the* most inspirational thing … I LOVED it.


  1. 1 Buy » It worked! Trackback on May 13, 2008 at 2:26 pm
  2. 2 Links that may amuse » Manolo for the Big Girl! Trackback on May 22, 2008 at 5:17 am

Leave a Reply

