A kick in the teeth from Miss Plus America Elite

crown
This was on the Mike and Juliet show the other day… MeMe and the good doctor are smearing the same ol shit, but Miss Plus America lands some really nice digs about MeMe’s credentials there at the end.

16 Responses to “A kick in the teeth from Miss Plus America Elite”


  1. 1 hotsauce April 9, 2008 at 11:28 am

    YOW! “So stick with your social judgments.” That was great : )

  2. 2 Joy Nash April 9, 2008 at 11:36 am

    I KNOW! I also liked “I’m the future physician. Not you.”

  3. 3 Rachel April 9, 2008 at 11:55 am

    That’s awesome! I really wanted to point out her lack of medical expertise too when I appeared with her, but I didn’t get the chance to do so.

  4. 4 cynth April 9, 2008 at 11:58 am

    That was a fantastic dig on “the MiMi”…. It made my day.

  5. 5 Cindy April 9, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    I really, really wish the broadcast media would NOT continue to keep the least qualified people on retainer to address medical issues. Why can’t the producers of the show actualy do some work and contact physicians who research obesity and ask the pointed questions? Sorry, but general practitioners are not the best doctors to answer “specialty” questions. (Is it because they won’t give us pat answers that fatten the pockets of corporate gyms, doctors and Big Pharma?)

    Here’s one compound question: If we somehow could wave a magic wand over the American population with a BMI of 25 or greater and give them a BMI of between 20 and 24, and kept them at that range for 10 years, would the rates of cancer, cardiovascular disease, high cholesterol, hypertension and type II diabetes drop dramatically? Or would the change be negligible? Or diabetes rates fall while all the other diseases stayed the same?

    I have a sneaking suspicion that if we eliminated obesity tomorrow, people would still be developing all of those conditions and diseases.

  6. 6 Rachel April 9, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Dr. Jennifer Ashton is well qualified to speak on the issue and I think is overall more fair about the issue than many doctors, but Roth is not qualified at all. Yet FOX continues to parade her about as an “expert.”

  7. 7 Joy Nash April 9, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    TV wants pretty people who speak in soundbites. Unfortunately, those people very rarely are the most knowlegable on any given subject.
    But yeah, they are absolutely taking the easy way out when they trot out their favorite show ponies instead of really actively searching for engaging experts.

  8. 8 Rachel April 9, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    To Ashton’s credit, she does have an active OB-GYN practice where she treats many women with PCOS, which is strongly connected to weight. My only problem with Dr. Ashton is the bipolar terms she speaks in: you’re either morbidly obese or you’re anorexic. When Mo and I appeared on the show, she took great pains to emphasize that she wasn’t speaking of us, but of obese people. My BMI places me in the obese category. If she isn’t speaking of me, who is she speaking of? I don’t think even she has an accurate definition of how BMI translates in real life or what vague BMI numbers look like.

  9. 9 Cindy April 9, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Props to Dr. Ashton, but I don’t trust her to have any real depth of knowledge about obesity research. I suppose I shouldn’t expect a morning show like that to carve out 60 Minutes-style depth to fat, however.

    Anyway, after Dr. Ashton prescribed avoiding all white food as a panacea for obesity, she lost all credibility with me. I’d feel much more comfortable if she confined her medical advice to matters of ob/gyn.

  10. 10 Glen April 11, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    One day Meme Roth is going to get tired of being bashed over the head…LOL

  11. 11 fictionista April 13, 2008 at 8:56 am

    Meme makes herself look bad every time she’s on that show, talking over people when they begin to say anything that undermines her unfounded opinions. The “social judgments” zinger was totally awesome. I heart Miss Plus. Despite the fact that I was alone in my apartment and not in a studio audience, I kinda cheered. XOXO

  12. 12 Jackie April 20, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    That was awesome, Mimi’s face after Miss Plus told her to “Stick with her social judgements”

    I also thought the “doctor’s” claim that if you exercise don’t smoke, and “eat carrots” if your fat you still aren’t healthy is BS. Now they’re saying to fat people even if you do all the “right” things, that still isn’t worth anything unless you’re thin? What the heck?

    Also it was great to point out that Mimi Roth is not a professional in any respect, towards actually knowing about health. She basically has the fat-hate website equivelent of white power’s Stormfront website.

  13. 13 Emma May 4, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/health/7378349.stm

    Hey guys, I thought you all might be interested in this new study I just read on the BBC about fat cells.

  14. 14 Miss Plus America Elite June 20, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Hey guys, ok so I just stumbled accross this! Ok, I know I am about two months behind, but this is Jenna, Miss Plus America Elite…the woman who got to stick it to meme roth. Can I just say, seriously…Meme Roth is a special woman, she loves to make these crazy and outrageous statements, of course she does it just because the producers love it and because she is a little off her rocker. But has anyone noticed, she tried to make a statement about what is beautiful on the show, that somehow she can set standards for beauty or something, yet she wears the same suit to every single interview??? What is that? But seriously guys, Dr. Ashton is actually a great woman. She is just trying to make a point. That being overweight and obese only puts you at higher risk factors for medical complications, and it does not mean you are any less of a person. I am fat, I have been this way since the age of four. I have been as high as 427 lbs., and I have lost almost 200lbs, and I am still fat. I do everything right, and I am still heavy. But I am great, and I promote a fit life everywhere I go. The point, you got to care about yourself at any age and state in life. Love yourself, believe in yourself, and nothing can stop you in this life.


  1. 1 Miss Plus Size Elite slams fatfighter MeMe Roth » The-F-Word.org Trackback on April 9, 2008 at 11:56 am
  2. 2 In Search of Americans » It Ain’t Over Till the Fat Lady Rants Trackback on July 12, 2008 at 6:11 am

Leave a Reply

