PSA

Peggy Nature made my eyes water: Why.

21 Responses to “PSA”


  1. 2 peggynature March 15, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    Thank you, Joy! Fat Rant made my eyes water 🙂

  2. 3 Rachel March 18, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Please, please tell me you’re not serious?
    Please?!

    You know, I was always told that if you didn’t use the Pill, and a condom EVERY SINGLE TIME you would get pregnant that instant, have triplets and DIE!
    And probably get Chlamydia as well.
    Although, thinking about it, the Chlamydia – and associated infertility – might mean I didn’t have to take the pill.
    Huh – some you win, some you lose!

    Good luck with finding a better doctor 🙂

  3. 4 Noe March 18, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    Natural Contraception is along the same lines as HAES/Fat Acceptance. Here’s why.

    There are actually natural methods (not the rhythm method as that is outdated and risky) that do in fact work. We’re just not told about them because they don’t make the big pharms any money. It may be hard to believe that such a thing exists because we’re told repeatedly by the traditional medical field/media/etc., the same people that tell us our BMI of over 30 makes us obese and therefore unhealthy/unattractive. The Sympto-Thermal ‘Double-Check’ method is not only 98% effective but doesn’t pump the body with synthetic hormones that dramatically increase chances of being infertile well after stopping the pill, along with the many other horrible side-effects like depression, weight gain (if I’m gaining weight, I sure as hell would have liked food to be the cause), lowered libido as well as countless others. Just take a good read to that wee paper that comes with the Pill every month.

    Ok, off soap box now.
    🙂

  4. 5 Carrie March 20, 2008 at 7:03 am

    Frightening, with a capital F.

  5. 6 Kelsey March 21, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    This is terrifying, though I agree with Noe that there are natural options people don’t tell us about. What she said just runs counter to pretty much everything I’ve ever heard about contraception. So, awesome.

    Also, I can tell you from personal experience that doctors like to toss Yasmin at fat chicks. It supposedly helps you lose weight, unlike other BC pills which tend to cause weight gain.

    Also from experience I can tell you that Yasmin didn’t make me lose weight (not that I was trying). Instead it gave me lots and lots of mind-numbing headaches that wouldn’t go away, and a number of other side effects. Moral of the story: don’t do it. It’s not worth it.

  6. 7 Emily Franz March 24, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    OH, wow…I say never go back to that doctor. I would also report their medical advise to you to the insurance company.
    With that kind of advise, the Blue Cross company will be paying out alot on maternity claims.

    Here’s what I did when I needed birth control. I’m 45 and I just had a very nice IUD put in. All my friends have it and my gynecologist also has one. they all swear by it. It’s 99.9 % affective and it stays in for 5 years. heres the website so you can read more about it.
    http://www.mirena-us.com/index.jsp

    Stop by my blog. I, too, am curvey and work with every post to empower women to find self acceptance and self love. I hope to see you there.

    And–get your Merina installed. You won’t regret it!

    Em

  7. 8 Jackie March 24, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    Sounds like they’re just letting anyone be a doctor today. Doesn’t matter if you graduated from medical school, or from a job at a fast food resturant. Seriously, nobody seems to understand what incompetance means anymore. They just figure if they have a body there doing the job, that’s good enough. It’s beyond pathetic.

    I also admire your restraint, cause I would’ve told that doctor what was what. I mean a medical text from 1968, I think I would’ve been tempted to say something like, “Have you grown at all since 1968, hasn’t the world changed from the time you were in medical school? What kind of doctor doesn’t know they have to be up to date with CURRENT medical information? I bet a dork off Wikipedia would know more about birth control than you!”

  8. 9 DowntownVenus March 24, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Holy mother of pearl. I know more about BC that this woman, and I ain’t got a degree. In fact, I’d rather be treated by Nick Riviera than this twit!!

    Bye everybody!

  9. 10 Mitsy March 28, 2008 at 2:13 am

    I have to agree with Emily. I’ve had my IUD for several months now and absolutely LOVE it. There are two different popular versions. There’s the Mirena which is arc-shaped and coated in progesterone. (Basically the same stuff you get from taking a minipill or half the hormones present in your average birth control.) It’s good for five years. Then, there’s the Paragard. It’s wrapped in copper, T-shapeed, and sans hormones. This one is good for TEN years.

    They say that the Mirena includes hormones to help lessen cramps that you gloriously receive after having an IUD inserted. Getting one supposedly makes your cramps during menses a bit more treacherous. (However, I haven’t I went from having none to having a tepid few.) The Paragard was my choice for the ‘no hormones’ argument. It’s no fuss, no mess. Pretty much just check the strings during that special time of the month. If they’re still in place, you’re good to go.

  10. 11 Lisa March 28, 2008 at 4:19 am

    There must be an insta-doctor website out there somewhere handing out certifications like that website that makes you an ordained minister in 5 minutes.

    That’s some scary shit…good luck finding a better doctor.

  11. 12 girlgriot March 28, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Whoa.

    As a testiment to the rhythm method’s ability to produce gifts from god (as are my brother and sister), I just want to … run screaming from that doctor!

    At least the doc who told me the best way to not get pregnant was to not have sex was accurate, even if she wasn’t realistic!

  12. 13 kmom March 29, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Well, there are only limited days each cycle when you can get pregnant BUT the rhythm method is NOT the way to deal with them!! It’s clearly been shown to be an outdated and unreliable method.

    However, you might want to check into the Fertility Awareness Method (FAM, also known as the sympto-thermal method by some), which involves knowing and recognizing your own personal fertility indicators so you know when you can have sex safely and when you cannot. Unprotected sex at any point sounds scary, but really FAM is quite effective if you use it properly. The key is that you have to really learn how to use it correctly, preferably with an instructor to ask questions of. The bonus is that FAM has no hormones and side-effects to mess up your body. Like any BC method it has pros and cons, but many women find it very effective and better for them than hormonal methods.

    However, even if you research FAM and decide it’s not for you personally, it still is awesome to learn about your own body’s signals and cycles; very empowering. You can read more about it in Toni Weschler’s book, “Taking Charge of Your Fertility.” Great book.
    I recommend all women read it, even if they don’t plan to use FAM for birth control.

    I personally don’t recommend the IUD. A friend had one perforate her uterus recently and ended up with mind-boggling, life-threatening complications as a result. Yes, it’s a rare complication, but it’s pretty dang serious if it does happen. Don’t take that lightly. And I’ve had other friends have lesser complications with it. I’m just not a fan.

    I don’t know if your less-than-stellar doctor mentioned it, but many BC pills are less effective when you are on antibiotics. I know a couple of babies conceived that way! Do keep that in mind if you decide to consider the pill. But yeah, if you’re not the type to do things reliably and regularly, the pill may not be the best choice for you.

    Some women like barrier methods like the diaphragm or cervical cap. Another option for you to consider.

    There are many choices for birth control out there, and everyone has their own favorite. You’ll have to figure out which is the right choice for YOU. But whatever you choose, do check out Toni Weschler’s book, just to learn more about your own body and how it works. Fascinating stuff.

    kmom

  13. 14 Lia March 31, 2008 at 10:47 am

    You mentioned the ring?
    I’m assuming you mean the NuvaRing, or some generic equivalent. (I sure hope someone makes a generic equivalent soon, if they ahven’t yet…it’s expensive!)

    Just to give you an opinion, I ❤ my nuva ring. I’ve been using it for four years now, and it’s wonderful. I used to have major so-bad-I-had-to-stay-in-bed cramps and long periods, and taking hormonal birth control has gotten rid of both of those problems for me. I like the nuva ring in particular because you *don’t* have to deal with it every day, and because it’s supposed to give you more consistent doses of the hormones than pills do. Some of my friends who’ve asked me about it are freaked out by the whole having to put it where it goes, but really, if you can use a tampon you can use this.

    (I promise I have no affiliation with whoever makes nuva ring – as I said, I want someone to make a generic copy. My main problem is that it’s pretty darn expensive, but for me, it’s worth it.)

  14. 15 class-factotum March 31, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    I agree that your doc does not seem very well informed, but she is correct (based on my broad experience of me, me, me) that it is not so easy to get pregnant, even if you are trying! The irony of it all. I’m sure if I were 16 and in the back seat of a Chevy with a six pack, I’d have no problems. But 44 after 15 years on the pill? Not a good formula! (I suspect it is more age than lingering Yasmin, though.)

  15. 16 Lia March 31, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    (oops, I just realized this post is not the one above it. darn you and your aesthetically pleasing yet semi confusing wordpress template!)

  16. 17 jenjen April 1, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    That was beyond amusing, it was fucking hysterical.

    Thank you for sharing that, because man…I needed to laugh that hard and didn’t even know how much until I was wiping the happy laughy tears away!

    Beautiful gifts from God…heh.

  17. 18 Sass April 4, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    Oh please, please *please* make this into a video/sketch of some sort. Acting out both you and the doctor. Reading it almost made me choke on my gum. I’m certain that a video could ratchet that up to full on pants wetting. Aim for the gold!

  18. 19 NotDieting April 6, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    The EXACT SAME THING happened to me. Two years ago I went to a doctor in San Diego and wanted to try a new kind of birth control. He started going on and on about the Rhythm Method! I couldn’t believe it. Soon after I switched doctors. Maybe it’s back in style?

  19. 20 Stacy May 16, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    umm just a response to the one lady about the Mirena…one of the stipulations is that you have to have had at least one child already..i dont know you..but..i dont think you do..

    =) This Message was Approved by STACY

  20. 21 Jenrose June 25, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Mirena was really wonderful right up until I realized that the hormonal effects were making it impossible to lose weight and sapping my libido so low that birth control was irrelevant. When I started to wonder if I was in love with my husband and started gaining while eating practically nothing, I had it yanked. Within days I realized what a loveable man my husband is. And lost 5 pounds. I don’t need to be thin, but I do need to not gain more weight at this point.

    We use NFP, but my body is Crystal Clear about ovulation, so from about day 4-5 of my cycle until I ovulate we abstain (because condoms are full of lose as a bc method).


Leave a Reply

