Fatshion Paradise.

FYI: The Fox Hills Mall is a magical mythical shopping mecca for the fat girl.

Seriously, if you’re in LA and want to do some damage, this is the effing place to be.
Forget hanging out at that solitary LB. Fox Hills knows where it’s at.
Here are the reasons that I love them.

1) The Lane Bryant there is some kind of test store- this means they have WAY better stuff than all of the other LB’s you have been to. Trust me. I go to a lot of LB’s.

2) They have an entire Cacique store. AN ENTIRE STORE FOR FAT LADIES LINGERIE.

3) They have a brand new Ashley Stewart. Hooray hooray hooray for Ashley Stewart and the bright colors and the loud prints and the big fancy cuts, designs, and ideas.

4) The plus size department in their Macy’s is GIGANTIC. Seriously 4 times bigger than the one in the Sherman Oaks Mall. 7 times bigger than the Beverly Center. 1123!@#weVWGF&* times bigger than the one in the Santa Monica Mall. (That’s because that Macy’s has no Plus section whatsoever. Yeah. I’m never going back.) Anyway, this Macy’s does it right. The whole store is kind of a mess, but for real- they’ve got the goods.

5) They have a HUGE store called MODE PLUS that’s an inbetweenie paradise. It’s like a cheapo Forever 21 for fat girls. I’m squeezing into a 3X there- and I’m a solid 18 or 1X just about everywhere else, so things run a little small at MP, but they’ve got toootally weird, awesome, unique stuff there for the lady sized 12-18.

6) They have an Old Navy.

7) There’s a store called PJ’s that’s got plus sizes.

8 ) JC Penney has plus too.

That is EIGHT CLOTHING STORES I can shop at in a SINGLE SHOPPING MALL.
EIGHT!!! Not one. Not two! EIGHT!!

This means: if I don’t like the way the jeans fit at Lane Bryant, I can WALK ACROSS THE LINOLEUM to the Ashley Stewart, or the Macy’s or any of the above listed, and try on variations on the theme until I find what I like. If I don’t want to look like a big fat Elle Woods, I can walk next-door and dress up like a big fat Fergie or a big fat SJP or or even a big fat Nancy Reagan if I so desire. I don’t just have to SETTLE for whatever I can get my grubby little fingers on. I’m not just resigned to the one idea the buyer had back in Colombus, OH. If I don’t like something, not only can I just not buy it, I can- 10 minutes later- BUY SOMETHING ELSE!!! AND: all this without moving my car ONCE. Gasp gasp pant pant wonder of wonders. In short: I can shop like a straight-size person.

****ATTENTION TORRID!!!*****
YOU HAVE A CAPTIVE AUDIENCE AT

294 Fox Hills Mall
Culver City CA 90230-6482
(310) 390 5073

INTERSECTION OF SLAUSON AND SEPULVEDA.

For reals. That’s the only thing that could possibly make that mall even more awesome.

ETA: It worked! They added a Torrid. Also, PJ’s is gone, and they have a Catherine’s, if that’s the kind of thing you’re into.

23 Responses to “Fatshion Paradise.”


  1. 1 Jessie Mae November 30, 2007 at 3:50 am

    Oh man! Why didn’t I know about this when I lived right near it? Oh well, sounds like it would be worth the trip from Pasadena.

  2. 2 kateharding November 30, 2007 at 4:09 am

    I am so coming to visit.

  3. 3 Jabri November 30, 2007 at 4:20 am

    If you are ever in new york, you should try the Greenacres Mall in Laurelton. There is a Lane Bryant, Ashley Stewart, Avenue, and Macy’s/JC Penney (etc). I think there is also an Old Navy and H&M. I love that mall!

  4. 4 Mari November 30, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    Joy, awhile ago you said that you were approached by MTV to do
    a special. But you know what? You are right! They’re doing
    another special called “Return to Fat Camp.” MTV Sucks!

    Were it not for True Life, I would seriously call my cable
    provider and asked them why I have to pay for such a
    disgusting channel!

    Congrats on finding a new mall to shop at. If every mall in
    America were like this . . .

  5. 5 Krista November 30, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    Hmmm- worth the 5 hour drive? No, sigh, I guess not. Arrowhead mall in Glendale, AZ is good- J.Jill, Torrid, Lane Bryant, Macy’s, Mervyn’s, Dillards, Target across the street, Catherines and more. But I would love a Cacique store. My closest is in Tucson. We do have an LB Outlet nearby…

  6. 6 JeanC November 30, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    I’ve declared your blog to be Llamalisious, so come on over to my blog and get some Llama love! šŸ˜€

  7. 7 JeanC November 30, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    I’ve declared your blog to be Llamalisious, so come on over to my blog: http://www.purple-ducky.com/2007/11/ooooo-llama-love.html and get some Llama love! šŸ˜€

  8. 8 blackcherries December 1, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    Well I live in Canada, and in my city there are TWO stores exclusive to the Plus size woman. TWO thats IT. Addition Elle and Penningtons. Now there are other ones that have a measly plus size section, that will go up to.. 2x maybe. But these other two are awesome stores, and one even goes up to size 30 I do believe. (Just thought I’d let those Canadian Ladies know!) BTW, Love your blog Joy! Keep spreadin’ the love!

  9. 9 sizzlesays December 1, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    for once, i kind of wish i lived in LA.

  10. 10 Ashley December 2, 2007 at 8:09 am

    Hey Joy,

    I heard about you on http://www.about-face.org and basically fell in love with your fat rant video. What an inspiration you are!

    Now, a question. Where did you get the blue dress you wore at the end of the ā€œconfessions of a compulsive eaterā€ video? I love love loved itā€¦

    Ashley Dennison
    Columbia, MO

  11. 11 Rachael Stern AKA TwistedBarbie December 2, 2007 at 9:52 am

    No freakin way, you live in LA too?

    SO there really ARE cool people here. I hope I bump into you somewhere sometime!

  12. 12 Timewalker December 3, 2007 at 5:20 pm

    The new LB at the Avenue Carriage Crossing in Memphis has a Cacique “store” – ok, it’s all together w/ the LB, but it takes up half the space of a double-sized store, so yeah, that’s a lot of fat-girl lingerie under one roof! They are supposed to be opening a second one on Germantown Parkway soon. Yay for my wife dressing up in lacy stuff!

  13. 13 Kimocean December 14, 2007 at 10:16 am

    I love that mall! It’s completely worth the trek from Pasadena Jessie Mae (I’m in South Pas actually) although Santa Anita mall is pretty good. They’ve got a small Torrid, a LB with full size Cacique, Macy’s has a decent plus size selection as do Penny’s and Nordstrom’s. Then in Pasadena proper there’s a shop that has similar stuff to Mode Plus. The quality level isn’t high but their stuff is cheap, trendy and cute and they carry up to 5x (Junior so my guess is the 5x=about a 24W). It’s a great place for grabbing something if you want to show some skin. It used to be called Casual Plus and I think that may be linked to the online store but they changed the name to some ridiculous thing like Two frogs and a Fish or Two trees and a Frog.

  14. 14 Penelope December 17, 2007 at 2:23 am

    THANK YOU so much for posting this info! I live in Phoenix and have OFTEN wondered where I should be shopping in LA. Now I know!! And I just mapped it and see that it will be very convenient to shop there when we stay near the airport. Thanks again! Great blog!

  15. 15 Marcy December 20, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    Fox Hills mall is the best mall, EVER.

  16. 16 Mags January 7, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    “Blackcherries” commented about the Canadian store “Penningtons”, which has great fat-girl clothes. This one line they carry saved my life so many times, but I lost some weight, I’m now a hovering just below a 12, and they only go down to 14. I guess it’s almost reverse fasionism šŸ˜› I really miss them. Oh, and if any fat girls reading this are stuck in the “gotta lose the weight then everything will be sooooooo much better” groove, I have a few words:

    I’m 5’5, 24 years old, used to weigh 225, now weigh 150, which is 6 pounds over my “Body Mass Index”, so clearly not low enough.
    I don’t have any more or less friends than I did before.
    My job’s pretty decent, but so was the one I had before.
    I am no longer border-line diabetic BUT BUT BUT
    I am now so compulsively terrified of gaining weight back that I’m bulemic, and have been for over a year. I can’t go a solid hour without re-evaluating the cheques and balances of how much I’ve eaten/purged, to make sure it’s “acceptable.”

    Yeah, you could die from complications of obesity. You could also die from a heart attack, weakened arteries, kidney failure, your esophagus could errode, ditto your teeth, all from what I’ve got going on now.

    Focus on your mental health: be fat and happy, thin and happy, some ambiguous place in the middle and happy, whatever floats your boat. If anyone knows the secret to following my own advice, please share.

  17. 17 viv May 13, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    LA people should get together, have lunch and dessert with coffee, and then go shopping!! Hmmmmm, fun times.

  18. 18 Lena June 10, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Regarding Fat Girls Paradise at Fox Hills. Check out the new Torrid store.

  19. 19 artemis June 21, 2008 at 8:28 am

    i love that mall… it needs a makeoever… but it has soooooo many fab choices for bbws!

    smooches joy! you rock šŸ™‚

    artemis

  20. 20 Girlchile July 4, 2008 at 11:00 am

    OH MAN! that sounds like THE place to shop. Here in Birmingham UK we have a big new fancy mall and nowhere to shop. They have shut me out. Its open late which is ideal because I can go after work without having to rush. However, all the retailers who have plus size ranges have either left the mall altogether or have moved the plus ranges to another store outside the mall that closes at 6 and is of no use to me. ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGHHHH!!!!! Makes me want to slap someone.

    My own rant is here….

    http://blog.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog.view&friendID=69867305&blogID=376998266&Mytoken=6C6E8EFD-5150-4749-AD91F0E17A886A4B118878780


  1. 1 kliquee » “FatshionĀ Paradise.” Trackback on November 30, 2007 at 5:39 am
  2. 2 dekun2006 » “FatshionĀ Paradise.” Trackback on November 30, 2007 at 6:54 am
  3. 3 It worked! « Trackback on May 13, 2008 at 12:25 pm

Leave a Reply

