A Fat Girl Myself

So I went to see Fat Girls last week with my friend Eva-  The movie was really sweet and funny and weird.  A little jumpy, but hey- it’s a 19 year-old’s first feature.  I sure as hell hadn’t written, directed, and starred in my own movie when I was a Sophomore in college. 

My very favorite part:

Rodney, the main character has 2 friends: Sabrina and Rudy.  Rodney’s gay, Sabrina’s fat, and Rudy is a Cuban refugee.  Fabulously, Rudy and Sabrina fall in love and quick succession, Rudy invites his friends to his family reunion.  The next scene: Rodney and Sabrina are walking through a park to the reunion where a whole heap of family members are yelling and laughing- having the time of their lives. 

Rudy’s in the midst of the crush telling his mother all about his new girlfriend and how much she’ll love Sabrina.  I felt such dread as Sabrina and Rodney crested that hill.  There was no way this was going to be anything but heartbreaking.  I couldn’t imagine any way that woman was going to have anything other than shock and disappointment plastered all over her face once she’d seen all 300 pounds of Sabrina… 

geez.. writing this: I can’t believe I didn’t remember that I’ve HAD that experience.  My very first boyfriend was from Pakistan, and his family hated me.  Not because of my size, but because I was an American, and therefore “experienced”.  Which, by the way, was 9000% not the case.  I had kissed one boy before and that was in a play.  Other than that I don’t even think I’d ever had my hands held. 
I remember one Saturday we’d spent the day at some lake with his church group, my parents were supposed to pick me up at the church at 5 because there was going to be a Pakistani service at 6:30, and Solomon had made it a big point that everyone thought I was some kind of strumpet out to corrupt him and it was best that I not be there.  Naturally, my parents never showed. 
Two hours went by… no answer to any of my phone calls…  I remember hiding in the sanctuary while his family piled into the reception hall.  An entire room, 50 people who- if they didn’t hate me, at the very least strongly disapproved of me and my imaginary reputation.  At the time, I couldn’t think of anything worse.  Eventually, my best friend, the only person I knew with a car- and the only other phone number I had memorized, came to my rescue.  I remember crying all the way home, and when I told my mother what had happened: that they hated me and she’d left me there, she laughed.
Like seriously, I could see it happening for Sabrina..  my greatest hope was that Rodney would save the day and tell everybody to eff off.  But I was so wrong.  Rudy bustles his mother up to the gay and the fat girl, and the woman sucks in her breath and lets out a crow.  “IT IS SO WONDERFUL TO MEET YOU!!  You’re just beautiful!  I’ve heard so much about you!!”   I’m paraphrasing, but the lady was overjoyed.  She starts hugging everybody and Rodney and Sabrina are agog and in bemused shock and I’m sitting there with tears streaming down my face. 
It’s out of control.. that all it takes is somebody being nice.
In summary, Fat Girls is good.  Go see it, and when it comes out, buy it on DVD.

5 Responses to “A Fat Girl Myself”


  1. 1 littlem November 14, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    All it takes, sometimes, IS people being nice if you’ve been an outcast for any part of a lifetime.

    Mean, snotty, snarky people? Eviscerated. On the spot. Most of the time without breaking a sweat.

    Nice people? Especially strangers? Tears to the point of blubbering on occasion. (I did manage to wait until I got back in the car, or on the other end of the phone, but tears nonetheless.)

    I was conflicted about whether I’d go see it (there’s a blurb about it in the Tribeca Film Festival newsletter) so tell the director, when you meet him — you are going to meet him to make sure there’s a part for you in his next feature, right? — that you were directly responsible for others going to see the movie.

  2. 2 JeanC November 15, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    Now I REALLY want to see this movie!

  3. 3 Megan November 17, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    Oh my gosh, Joy, I am (was?) kind of in the same boat. My first boyfriend was from Pakistan, too – but his family hated me so much they would never meet me. It was even harder being overweight, because then they could conclude that the marshmallow man (me) was corrupting their dear son.

    Anyway, love the blog and thanks for the movie recommendation!

  4. 4 Curvaceous Dee November 25, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    I really want to see this movie too, now. If I comes out in New Zealand (hopefully at a festival), I will absolutely be there 🙂

    xx Dee

  5. 5 blackcherries November 26, 2007 at 5:56 am

    wow! That’s exactly how I felt when I met my Fiance’s family for the first time. Like they would be disappointed that I wasnt the “ideal” girlfriend they thought he would have. Awesome post!


Leave a Reply

