Before/After/After-After

This article  is really interesting.  

You know, someone should do private-eye surveillance on all of the people who’ve been in the “After” section of the weightloss articles/ ads in women’s magazines from the past 20 years. 

For reals.  There would be some anecdotal evidence for ya… 

Any pack-rats out there with back issues of Redbook or Ladies Home Journal from 1998?

10 Responses to “Before/After/After-After”


  1. 2 Rachel October 31, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    That’s not even a true “After” photo. Heidi “Kimkins” Diaz stole it from an internet-based Russian bride service, as well as at least 20 – 30 others she used in fictitious success stories. I wrote about this on my blog a couple weeks ago, with links to a lot of the sites active in this investigation.

  2. 3 littlem October 31, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    Yes – the top picture on the right is, I believe, one of several fakes.

    There was a huge brouhaha involving, among other things, a class-action lawsuit.

    Low-Carb Jimmys’reputation was also involved in some capacity.

    Joy – please forgive me for not formally checking in before this. As you could probably tell from some of my earlier guest posts on Dr. Stacy’s (“Every Woman Has An Eating Disorder”) blog, I am a huge fan.

    xo

  3. 4 littlem October 31, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    Pun intended. (I’m a little slow today. Hump day in NYC – you know how it goes. You all don’t seem to have quite the same thing in Cali, do you all?)

    Please let me know whenever you do your special. (I’m actually a bit bummed that I missed your shoot when you were here — did you say you all shot in Williamsburg?) I will do your music. Orchestral and the remix. 😀

  4. 5 nuckingfutz October 31, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    Regardless of the fact that this has been posted before (and I missed that one, so I’m glad Joy reposted it), it’s just more proof that the diet industry is made up of a bunch of charlatans and theives.

    The more I think about it, the more I’m glad that I vowed to myself that I’d never go on a diet again.

  5. 6 Chelsey November 1, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    Hey Joy
    I co-founded a fat activist and performance duo from Toronto called The Fat Femme Mafia. We travel across North America doing performance and facilitating workshops on everything pertaining to FAT! We are big fans! Check out our myspace: http://www.myspace.com/fatfemmemafia, and if you are ever in Toronto or want to come here, we should meet up!

    I also am a freelance writer and want to pitch an article to a couple of magazines about what fat activists think about Rosie O’Donnell as seeing she is one of the only OUT fat people on television. I would love to know what you think when I get there.

    Yours in fatness,
    Chelsey Lichtman

  6. 7 Deborah November 10, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    There’s so much to say. I love Fat Rant. It’s a long time coming.

    As far as the fraudelent diet ads out thee, it doens’t surprise me in the least that we’re also being scammed in reputable magazines.

    I wanted to let you know that I have a link to you on my blog site: plussizeplum.com/blog and I will do everything in my power to support your acting efforts!

  7. 8 fatinthefire November 10, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    Joy, I love Fat Rant and I love YOU! I wish I knew you when I was 20. Hell, I wish I WAS YOU when I was 20! I started dieting in my teens–to lose 10 lbs or some stupid thing so I could look more like the skinny models…yada yada yada…

    Anyhoo, after 20-some years of dieting I’m tipping the scales at a smidge over 300 and let me tell you, it sucks big time.

    So here I am, fat and fifty. Ewwwwww! BUT, in the past couple years, I’m finally learning to let go of some of my issues and just eat healthfully.

    Meanwhile I’m having some health issues which I’m convinced would have been dealt with 20+ years ago if the damn doctors hadn’t been so quick to say, “Oh, just lose a few pounds and everything will be great.” Asshats.

    Anyway, Love YA!

    FatLady
    fatinthefire.com

    …and yeah, I’m linking to you. No one is reading my stuff yet, but oh well….

  8. 9 ragingbee.com November 18, 2007 at 1:13 am

    Who is the girl in the red dress top left?

    ragingbee.com

  9. 10 Gil November 18, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    Joy, I just saw your ad on CNN, nice job!! I myself am “The Fat Guy” to all my friends, and I am very comfortable being who I am. My girlfrinds have almost all been fat, and that is fine with me. I am actually writing right after I saw your rant because it’s so refreshing!! Nice job, be happy being you and be safe.
    Fatguy In Rhode Island.
    MRHDFLST@yahoo.com


Leave a Reply

