Murderess!

So, almost a year ago, I saw a craigslist posting – some guy was looking for a drag queen with a Joan Crawford impression to voice a murdering puppet he’d made a feature film about.. and cause I’m that kind of girl, I forwarded it to my friend Michael:

(far left).
Michael, trusting lamb that he is, went and met with Scott Coblio…

Scott is slightly less creepy than this.
Scott told him this story about this woman in the 30s, named Winnie Ruth Judd. She killed her 2 best friends one night in Phoenix, AZ, chopped them up, packed them in suitcases, and took them on the train with her to Los Angeles!  But her bags started leaking… so she got caught… and a bunch of even creepier “1930’s search for true-justice-style” things happened before she reached a not-so-happy end.

Anyway, Scott Coblio had staged the ENTIRE feature-length film about Winnie…  using MARIONETTES.
And a little bit of Barbie furniture.

 Michael read for a few of the parts and then said “hey! I know an actress who could sound like an old-timey murderess!”

and volunteered me right back.
So, 5 hours later, the thing was in the can.. 

And NOW! It’s in festivals!
http://www.kookooboy.com/murderess
And TONIGHT! It’s playing in Phoenix!

October 16th at 10pm.
The Trunk Space
1506 NW Grand Ave
right next to Bikini Lounge!
for more info check out:
www.thetrunkspace.com

It’s the anniversary of the night of the murders! oOoOoooo…

The Arizona Republic interviewed me about it and I said like…the smartest thing ever
2 sticks of gum if you guess what it is.

9 Responses to “Murderess!”


  1. 1 Kate'sSisterJ October 17, 2007 at 1:43 am

    Wait, was it, “Not that murder is awesome or anything…”?

    LINOL! (laughing inside, not out loud)

    You’ve banked a bazillion smart statements in your day, so you can make one small withdrawal 🙂

  2. 2 Joy Nash October 17, 2007 at 4:03 am

    AHHHAhahahha!!! YOU WIN!! I was cringing as it even came out 🙂 Where can I send your gum sticks?

  3. 3 DowntownVenus October 17, 2007 at 7:43 am

    I can’t believe you said murder and awesome in the same sentence!

    “Not that there’s anything wrong with that”.

  4. 4 Krista October 17, 2007 at 8:29 am

    Darn, drat, dang! I adore The Trunk Space, and would have loved to see the film, but it is currently 1:30 in the morning as I am reading this. Sigh. I read the book by Jana Bommersbach a couple of years ago. An interesting piece of Phoenix history to be sure.

  5. 5 Joy Nash October 17, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    grrrr!! I’m sorry I didn’t get this out sooner for you 😦
    I was just thinking last night how it was kind of funny that the movie was playing at the Trunk Space and Winnie was the Trunk Murderess…
    Maybe they’ll bring it back…

  6. 6 Lisa October 17, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    Congratulations!

    I first heard of Judd a couple of years ago when I was in Phoenix. I was at a library convention and her niece, who is a medical librarian like me, spoke about the murders and her aunt and all that went on during the trial. It was fascinating.

  7. 7 Martin October 19, 2007 at 10:12 am

    I hope I can see this someday, it sounds fascinating.

    For something completely different but still puppety, you should search for Sailor Martin films. They are priceless.

  8. 8 kateharding October 19, 2007 at 7:06 pm

    BWAH! I am so going to refer to you as “Joy ‘Not that murder is awesome or anything’ Nash” from now on.

    And congrats! Let me know if it ever shows in Chicago — I would LOVE to see this!

  9. 9 kateharding October 19, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    Oh, and I just realized my big sis won the prize!

    Send her gum sticks c/o me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

