No Bratz for you!

This is great.  Salon’s got an article about emerging designers for plus-sized kids clothing.

 Almost makes you think there’s hope for the kids these days… 🙂 Last week my friend David and I tried to go see the Bratz movie.  David did some graphic art for the sets and he wanted to see if it made it in…  We searched moviefone, fandango, alll the tickets websites.  Bratz is NO LONGER IN THEATRES!  We were devastated.  It hasn’t even been a month!!

In the desperate search, we came across the official website and the entire plot synopsis

I want to see this so bad.

I mean the friggin character descriptions!! :

Yasmin (Nathalia Ramos) is the brown haired hispanic/latina one who likes singing, and journalism. Cloe (Skyler Shaye) is the blonde haired all-american one who likes photography and sports. Jade (Janel Parrish) is the black haired asian-american one who likes science, math and fashion designing. Sasha (Logan Browning) is the dark brown haired african-american girl who likes music, dancing and cheerleading.

When they all look EXACTLY THE SAME!!!

Isn’t that the same girl? Just with 4 hairdos?

I mean, am I right?

I’m totally right.


They look a liiittle bit different here, but just barely.
Certainly ain’t no babysitters club.

There should have been a fat babysitter.

I can’t wait until I’m making the rules in a year and a half.

13 Responses to “No Bratz for you!”


  1. 1 Joy Nash September 14, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    Dude! I’m reading the Babysitters character bios on wikipedia…
    How awesome is this?
    Anastasia “Stacey” Elizabeth McGill
    Appearance: Permed blond hair, blue eyes, slender
    Stacey has diabetes, and has been hospitalized several times as a result.
    and Claudia is the one who hides junk food everywhere.. remember?
    and then Mallory gets mono and Mary Anne stands up to her father and Dawn moves back to California. Remember?
    These books were so awesome.

  2. 2 fillyjonk September 14, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    ‘Course it’s the same girl with four hair colors — that’s why the only distinguishing features they can provide are hair color descriptions (and, of course, the Totally Diverse Heritages they’re supposed to indicate).

  3. 3 The Rotund September 14, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    I LOVED the Babysitters Club books. I probably actually still have a good thirty or forty of them somewhere in storage.

    The Bratz dolls…. I hate those things so much – no offense to your friend who worked on the movie! They sum up so much that is wrong with how sexualized children are in our culture. The girls in the movie are SO much older than the kids I have seen playing with these things.

  4. 4 Becky September 14, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    Yeah, they totally all look the same. That’s something I noticed when I saw an episode of that “search for the next pussycat doll” show (yeah, nothing else was on :P). All the contestants looked EXACTLY the SAME. It was creepy as hell.

    And yeah, BSC is awesome!

  5. 5 Dancinghawk September 14, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    I have this theory about the Bratz, actually.

    Check it out for yourself.

    Google “alian gray”.
    Google “Supermodel”.
    Google “Bratz dolls”.

    The Bratz are actually alian-supermodel hybreds, marketed to prepare us for the oncoming invasion. When the real hybreds get here, we won’t even notice.

    That’s also why they look exactly the same, despite the attempts at ‘diversity’ there.

    Seriously, the whole Bratz thing amuses me more than anything, even though I find the Bratz babies just creepy. Jon-Benet Ramsey all over again. (And I’ve watched those 5-year-old fasion shows, back when I was working my way through college as a janitor. Really, really disturbing.)

    And I was a huge baby-sitter’s club fan, too.

  6. 6 Joy Nash September 14, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    Oh no- Bratz dolls are totally effed up. I can’t imagine who thought it was a good idea to put a doll-thong on a toy. The movie sounds like a total trainwreck and that’s why I want to see it soooooooo badddddddddd!!

    And I hear you about the friggin gutter-stepford reality competitions. Can I get an amen for the Rock of Love? Not like I’m one in a million or anything- but it was totally creepy when I was driving down the Row at USC a few weeks ago – that’s where they keep the sororities- and I shit you not there were 3 pairs of girls walking down the street dressed iiiiiiiiiiiiidddddddddentically.
    5’7″, Size 4? Check.
    Blonde highlighted 2 inches below the shoulder-length hair tied up in a messy bun? Check.
    USC sun visor? Check.
    USC hooded sweatshirt? Check.
    Strategically ripped jeans? Check.
    Flip flops? Check.
    In their defense, their sweatshirts were different colors and some of their jeans were in different washes.

    weird.

    On another note- my very favorite part of the Baby Sitters Club books was Stacy’s handwriting with the hearts over the i’s.

  7. 7 Ducky September 14, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    Man, I miss the Babysitter’s Club books. When I was 12 (I think) I made flyers and started my own babysitting business. I think that’s the only time in my life when I had up to $900 in cash piled up in my bedroom and no time to spend it because I was so busy babysitting.

    Ah, those were the days…before kids started driving me crazy…and the sound of a squalling infant didn’t make my ovaries turn tail and run, “yipeyipeyipeyipe”, like a frightened dog…

  8. 8 tess September 14, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    check out “what claudia wore” : http://whatclaudiawore.blogspot.com/

    a whole blog about claudia from BSC’s outfits!

  9. 9 Karin September 15, 2007 at 8:52 am

    Check out this blog – every week (or so) the blogger reads a BSC-book and totally rips it up (but in a good way!). It is so friggin hysterical and brings back sooo many memories! :o)

    http://claudiasroom.blogspot.com/

  10. 10 Joy Nash September 16, 2007 at 2:51 am

    These Claudia websites are out of CONTROL!!!
    refriggindiculous!! Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

  11. 11 Krissy September 17, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    Hi Joy,

    I met you at FatGirl Speaks. I am a FATASS cheerleader and do the zine Figure 8. I just wanted to say hi and I am glad you have a blog now. Chub love! Krissy

  12. 12 Joy Nash September 17, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    Hi Krissy!!
    I totally bought your zine. And it was totally my favorite out of the 8 zines I bought that day. (I’d never seen zines before.)
    Thanks for saying hi!!


  1. 1 Erin Trackback on December 29, 2007 at 5:38 pm

Leave a Reply

