Xiao Yang is infriggincredible.

So first I read this…

And then I watched the video that is posted alongside it…
And I saw those SERIOUS MOVES. and realized they were a little familiar…
So I did a little google imaging and I found this:

and I was pretty sure, but I wasn’t positive that it was the same fat girl making everybody’s eyes pop out…
So I googled her name a whole bunch…
And Xiao Yang’s been doin her thang all over the place

MOST AMAZING, however, was this:

SHE HAS A FRIGGIN THROW RUG WITH HER UNBELIEVABLE SPLIT-DOING SELF ON IT!!!

This girl has got the goods.

That first article talks about how a “PR agent” discovered her after she posted an ad in a newspaper asking for someone to help her “lose weight or find a job”. It kind of sounds like this agent saw her as simply a Fat Lady to add to his freak show roster for variety show guests (other clients of his include a glass eater and a guy who pulls cars with his teeth). But things changed when:

To build her confidence, Hu tried to find her a boyfriend. He knew that the relentless pressure from her family to lose weight was driven by fears she would never marry. He got the largest newspaper in the city, the Nanjing Evening News, to write up every detail of Xiao’s misfortune in a story and seek prospective husbands.

Xiao wasn’t serious about getting married. But the story in March 2006 was a big boost to her confidence and drew 200 letters from interested men. It also attracted letters from more than 100 obese women from all over China who had had the same feelings and experiences. They all wanted to be friends with Xiao.

Hu and the newspaper formed a club for the women, with activities such as a beauty contest. That produced enough talented performers that Hu decided to form a band. Dozens of people auditioned.

The result was Qian Jin Zu He.

A fat girl band!!

I’m not sure why I’m so excited about this whole thing.. but I am.
No, I take it back. I think it’s this:

“Our original purpose for joining the band is to help other girls like us feel more confident, feel better about themselves, and to prove our capability in front of others”

Hooray for the Thousand Pounds!!

Also discovered on my journeys through the internets:
Beauty Puzzle

3 Responses to “Xiao Yang is infriggincredible.”


  1. 1 The Rotund September 7, 2007 at 3:06 pm

    That is so freakin’ cool.

  2. 3 Jane September 22, 2007 at 1:50 am

    Xiao Yang’s legs bother me — not because they’re big, but because they appear to me to be symptomatic of lipedema, an often-misdiagnosed, hereditary condition. I have it, and my blog, Big Leg Woman, talks about it, and while I’m a health editor, not a doctor, I kinda wish I had a way to get in touch with her.


Leave a Reply

