www.employeesmustwashhands.com/webmail

So last week I was in New York to shoot another YouTube video.

Some filmy friends of mine had just finished shooting a big fancy documentary in upstate NY and they had the fabulous idea to bustle me out there to make another fat video using all the fancy documentary equiptment they’d already rented!

So off I went, with one suitcase completely devoted to costumes and hairdos… to have the dreamiest day I’ve ever friggin had.

First of all, half of the crew was made up of my roommates- people I can’t get enough of anyway.. and the other half were sososo pro and happy- I couldn’t believe it.. To be completely honest, I thought there were gonna be alll kinds of personality conflicts- I can be one bossy lady– but there was NONE of it.

We shot all friggin day long- in the most beautiful building I’ve ever seen.. In this new video I’m playing like 5 different people- all talking and fighting with each other, and at one point I strangle myself-
SO I needed a pair of stunt hands to choke the living daylights out of me..
I’d met this truly amazing girl- Abby- through this whole myspace business a few months earlier- and incredibly she was free the day we were shooting.
I thought we’d only need her for that one choking scene- but my director and DP had other ideas.. she so so so graciously stayed for all 12 hours or something and we used her in practically every single shot. I cannot WAIT to see how this turns out:)

Andy! give me pictures of Abby!! and all that behind the scenes nonsense!!
Then- when it was over we all had dinner at this amazing little restaurant- and as we were finishing, my friend Tim- calls me up, figuring I was in LA.. but I say No! I’m in Williamsburg! and he says SO AM I!! So Tim drunkenly rides his bicycle through the rain to take me to a bar where in the bathroom, on the end of the “Employees must wash hands” sign, someone has written “.com” and somebody else has written “/webmail”
http://www.employeesmustwashhands.com/webmail

I wish I’d taken a picture…

All photos by the inimitable A. Stolarek. 😉

10 Responses to “www.employeesmustwashhands.com/webmail”


  1. 1 RW September 4, 2007 at 8:50 am

    OK so we all really want to see this video now… any idea on when it might be finished? I realise these things can take time, but the last one was SO good!

  2. 2 deja pseu September 4, 2007 at 12:56 pm

    Fabulous pics!!! Looking forward to the new video!

  3. 3 kateharding September 4, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Can’t WAIT to see it! Eeeeee!

  4. 4 mshell67 September 4, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    I love those pictures, you are fabulous!!

  5. 5 Joy Nash September 4, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    I’m thinking a least a month.. we’ve got to get it edited and everything. And it’s kind of different from the first one- I hope you like it .. 🙂

  6. 6 Varsenik September 5, 2007 at 3:30 am

    Super hot. Cannot wait for this.

  7. 7 RW September 5, 2007 at 8:33 am

    Can you say any more about what you’ve put in it? You covered so many different aspects/issues all in one video last time – any one of which could have loads more said about it… Or are you onto new territory?
    (Or maybe I should just shut up, stop asking questions, and wait and find out in a month or so?) 🙂

  8. 8 Emily September 5, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    Nice pics! Where did you get that blue dress?!

    Lurve it!

    Em

  9. 9 Joy Nash September 5, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Blue dress is I.N.C. from Macy’s. I’m in lurve as well 🙂

    hmmm.. I’m really not sure what to say about the new video 🙂 It’s a little more about eating than about fat. I will say it’s a little heavier on the levity and a little lighter on the education than the last one…

    Any particular aspects or topics you think might be good for future videos?

  10. 10 RW September 5, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    I have two topics always at the top of my mind in this regard – and which I think get talked about very infrequently. I tend to mess up when I write about this in too few words, but I’ll have a try… (so please take the following as tentative words fully open to criticism, or just tell me that what I’m saying is already obvious or whatever).

    The first topic is the easiest (but still hard). You touched on it really effectively at the beginning of Fat Rant – in the first 30 seconds. It’s the way that women (mostly) talk to each other about weight/size/etc just in daily conversation – and the negative results of that for everyone involved. For instance the whole thing about how people try to protect themselves by putting themselves down before anyone else can, but how people then believe what they say. And so on. (I got so frustrated looking for a good article about this that I wrote one myself. If you feel inclined, follow the link from my name RW and scroll down to “You’re looking good” at the very bottom of the page. I’m always happy to receive feedback on it – positive or critical. And please note that the link to Fat Rant is at the top of this page!)

    The second is to look at this whole thing from the political angle. The way I figure it we have a society in which men have more than their fair share of power… and it serves this system well – in that power is kept in the hands of men – to have body image as so prominent an issue. The way the system works is that women (of whatever size) are encouraged to be busy thinking about food, to feel bad, to spend their money on stuff that doesn’t work, to accidentally find themselves criticising each other (in daily conversation), and to be hungry. It’s hard to say this without implying that men have got together to plot to keep women down – when that’s not what I mean. But the way the system works they might as well have done.

    Sorry, I guess even if I’ve said this right I still sound like I’m teaching my grandmother to such eggs (that saying does exist in the USA doesn’t it?). But I’d be really really enthusiastic if you managed to say more about these things in a video. This would broaden your message from ‘Fat is OK’ (simplifying wildly here) to ‘You are OK, fat, thin, etc, etc’


Leave a Reply

