Miss Platnum…

Wherrreee can I get clothing like THIS!!!??

14 Responses to “Miss Platnum…”


  1. 1 vesta44 August 28, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    Great video, and the clothes and ladies are awesome. Rock on!

  2. 2 The Rotund August 28, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    This is so random and awesome! And her clothes really ARE fab.

  3. 3 Thorn August 28, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    Oh mah gawd! I luuurrrrve that lavender sweetheart neckline number. Gorgeous!!

  4. 4 Thorn August 28, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    P.S. I love the song, too.

  5. 5 tess August 28, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    i don’t know, but you should totally ask her: http://www.myspace.com/missplatnum

  6. 6 Joy Nash August 28, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    and now we are internet friends:)

  7. 7 Ana August 29, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    So, where does she buy the clothes?!

  8. 8 RW August 29, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    OK I love the clothes and her confidence shines out like a beacon… Sorry to spoil the fun, but shouldn’t we also be noticing that she’s been forced (encouraged, tempted etc) into a familiar corner…
    Surely she:
    – in her lyrics is strengthening the ‘fat because of eating too much’ myth
    – has had to bring her size into her music (it shouldn’t be relevant)
    – has chosen the familiar ‘if I say it first you can’t hurt me by saying it’ approach.
    Find me an ‘I’m sexy just because I am’ lyric (or something like that) in a video by her and then I’ll be telling my friends to watch it.

  9. 9 Helen August 29, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    That’s a cool video. She’s gorgeous, too, lucky her!

    Sorry, I’ve started writing this comment and it’s turning into a bit of a rant, I hope you don’t mind.

    I like to eat too and I am fat. I like butter instead of margarine, and I’ve recently taken to whole milk instead of semi-skimmed, and of course chocolate is awesome. (I made joking reference to someone’s beer belly, a friend responded by patting my belly and saying, “Ah, but Helen’s is a chocolate and Bailey’s belly”, which amused me) There seem to be a lot of ideas about how calories are somehow eeeeeevil and anything sweet or fatty is somehow naughty. There are a couple of restaurants I’ve seen that have given their food Weight Watchers’ points ratings or the equivalent.

    The fact is, food is not evil. We all need food. But fat people are told we can’t eat like real people, we should go on a “slimmer waist for summer” challenge eating cereal for breakfast and lunch (I used to eat two bowls of crunchy nut for breakfast because it’s nice and doesn’t keep me going until lunch otherwise). Or perhaps the wonders of “slimfast”, eating nasty soups (I know, my mum used to eat them and they’re disgusting) or drinking milkshakes instead of eating actual meals. Then there’s those yucky rice cake things and a whole host of things that serve as a disgusting substitute for real food.

    I am all for eating healthily – personally I love fruit and I’m not against veg – but chocolate isn’t the enemy, it ought to be the fifth food group, or perhaps the first. It’s nice to hear a woman admit it, she likes to eat 🙂

  10. 10 The Rotund August 30, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    RW, some people might be fatter than they otherwise would be because they like to eat food. That’s okay! I think it’s awesome that she a) enjoys food unlike the majority of the people I know, including myself, who have histories of disordered eating and b) that she isn’t willing to sacrifice something that gives her pleasure to strive for what is an arbitrary and unattainable goal.

    It IS a shame that her size has become relevant to her music but I have to say, if it has to be relevant, I love the way she is handling it.

  11. 11 Joy Nash August 30, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    The Rotund, I totally agree.
    AND– this is ONE SONG.
    It’s fun, she’s beautiful, and her attitude is infectious.
    I don’t think her entire identity is wrapped up in the consumption of food.
    This may be the one song that’s receiving the most attention, but that’s more our fault than hers- isn’t it?

  12. 12 RW August 30, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    Our fault more than hers? Absolutely (meaning ‘our’ in the widest sense). Her entire identity wrapped up in the consumption of food? I’m sure not, and I’m sure she has SO much more to give the world. And I too like the song by the way. If she has other videos out there that we can draw attention to then that would be really great. And I’m intending absolutely no criticism of Miss Platnum – this was just something that seems worth noticing – the way I look at it (I’m cynical and always looking for the negative) if we’re not careful then stuff comes back and to bite us when we’re least expecting it. Or we find ourselves doing stuff that has unintended consequences – I’ve seen that happen lots. Had you noticed for instance that the main publicity that a certain set of adverts seems to have had recently has been on blogs about size acceptance (complaining about them but therefore spreading them around the net).

  13. 13 Raisin'Cookies January 8, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    I want every single outfit in that video, but especially the lilac dress. Gorgeous.

    I wish that I could afford an entire wardrobe of clothing specifically made for me. Half my issues with my size would be eradicated if my clothes fit me properly!

  14. 14 hil June 18, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    wow, she’s awesome!


Leave a Reply

