What if I eat a rice cake with a french fry on top of it?

What if I eat a rice cake with a french fry on top of it ? 

This made me laugh out loud.  Big Fat Blog has a great post about the “naughty/nice” food virtuosity contest happening in the Food and Nutrition section at Figure Magazine…

There are a LOT of great comments:
Jennifer Portnick’s comes to mind:

“How about, if you want something sweet like chocolate, have some chocolate and then go on with your day.”

but beakergirl’s made me snort my Diet Coke:

“I also have problems with “naughty” and “nice.” Does that mean I’m good on the days I eat rice cakes and evil on the days when I eat french fries? What if I eat a rice cake with a french fry on top of it ?(that actually sounds really nasty, but whatever) .

Food is not moral, not immoral. It is neutral. What is immoral is telling women to suppress natural hunger in the interest of trying to fit some kind of not-on-this-planet standard of thinness.”

I wish I knew a thing or two about photoshop. I would make this:
languish luxuriously on top of this:

FYI:
This baby is good:

This baby is evil:

This baby is awesome:

So is this baby:

10 Responses to “What if I eat a rice cake with a french fry on top of it?”


  1. 1 Jess July 17, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    Those babies made me laugh harder than anything has all day.

  2. 2 withoutscene July 17, 2007 at 11:58 pm

    How come the “good” baby look so naughty! That third baby makes me want to make a hamburger suit and wobble on my tummy.

    Soon I will use the rice cakes I’ve had in my cupboard for over a year to make take a real live picture of the rice cake-french fry duo just for you.

  3. 3 Jennifer July 18, 2007 at 3:08 am

    Ok, I swear if my evil 2nd born could catch the cat, that would be her in the last pic.

  4. 4 Katy July 19, 2007 at 7:37 am

    Hello miss!

    I just have to say… You my friend, are AWESOME!!!

    I’ve been reading your posts for a couple weeks now since I saw the tail end of a news report about you… I saw just enough to get your blog address – but I’ve gotten all caught up since.

    I’m so grateful that you are speaking out for what you believe in… You are an inspiration to me and you’ve actually managed to change my life in just a few short weeks. I’m goin sleevless baby!!!!

    I hope you’ll come visit me over at my blog. Thanks again for being so great :O)

    Love,

    Katy

    P.S. I also have a picture of a zero fat, zero calorie “French Rice Cake” waiting for you over in my neck of the woods… It’s all yours!
    *They cancel each other out, right?*

  5. 5 kateharding July 19, 2007 at 11:44 pm

    The babies? Are genius.

  6. 6 Katy July 20, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    I made the rice cake a la french fry just for you… So it’s all yours to do with what you please!

    I’ll email it to you to make it easy.

    Thanks again my friend!

  7. 7 BigBoned July 21, 2007 at 12:49 am

    My favorite fast food french fry place burned down yesterday 😦 *sniff*

    I’m not that into rice cakes. I try them every couple of years, but I still don’t get the appeal. And yes, I tried giving them to my baby too, but she wasn’t that into them either.

  8. 8 Becky July 21, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    Hello Joy!

    I first found out about you from my friend Katy who, as I can see, has left a few replies to this post already. I wanted to say that you are such an inspiration! Your blog is beyond hilarious and motivating. Although I haven’t quite talked myself into wearing sleeveless shirts yet, I did wear shorts out in public (*GASP*) for the first time since high school yesterday, keeping your ‘Fat Rant’ in mind.

    Whether you set out to help people with their weight-related self-esteem or not, that’s what you’re doing by sharing all your wonderfully honest opinions! So, thank you for making me believe that it’s okay to love myself even though I’m fat! I love your blog and will be tuning in regularly! 🙂 Have a wonderful day!

    Love,
    Becky
    http://www.thefearofstrikingout.blogspot.com

  9. 9 Tina July 23, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    I like your website and your message, but I don’t like seeing a baby biting a cat.

  10. 10 radicalearthling July 24, 2007 at 2:49 am

    Don’t worry Tina, the cat’s fine. That baby has four teeth at the most.

    I don’t get why rice cakes are this huge health food. If you eat nothing but grains you cause your mineral stores to be depleted and you screw with your glucose metabolism besides. Rice as a small side dish is fine but as the basis for an entire diet it’s kind of shaky.

    Not that white potatoes are off the hook. They’re a good source of vitamin C but the glycemic index is… whoa. Sweet potatoes are way better, and taste better too.

    Not that I don’t get the joke. Ha.


Leave a Reply

