Mike and Juliet Clip-a-rama-lama-ding-dong

here’s a little chunk of the Morning Show from the other day…
Kelly Bliss is a genius and I am SO friggin lucky she was there. I’ll try to get ther rest of the segment off my DVR and onto YouTube so you can hear all the awesome crap she had to say…
http://www.mandjshow.com/videos/looking-good-vs-feeling-good/

And since staircase wit is always sharpest, when MeMe was crying about plus size kids clothes, I should have asked her if she really believed that she was going to make fat kids disappear by making sure they had nothing to wear…

10 Responses to “Mike and Juliet Clip-a-rama-lama-ding-dong”


  1. 1 Rachel June 27, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Yeah, because as everyone knows, making fat people feel even more like social pariahs is so the way to get them to lose weight . Suuuure.

    MeMe can’t seem to grasp that it’s fitness, not fatness which is key. At one point, she tries to respond by saying she’s not against fat, but she is. Isn’t that why her organization is named the National Action Against OBESITY?

  2. 2 bedina June 27, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    I think the therapist made a great point about the BMI normalizing ultra-thinness, rather than normalizing higher weights as MeMe kept suggesting. And the whole conversation was much less a snakepit than I’m used to seeing on TV shows.

    I just found your blog, Joy, and am so glad I did!

  3. 3 sarah June 27, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    MiMi makes me want to tear my hair out and throw it at her! Thank God for you and Kelly, what great comebacks; changed the tone of the conversation entirely!

    THANK YOU! 🙂

  4. 4 deja pseu June 28, 2007 at 2:28 am

    What Me!Me! Roth doesn’t understand, is that in Fashion World™ lingo, “Plus Size” models are generally size 8-10. Oh, the horror!!!

  5. 5 thehoneybunny June 28, 2007 at 3:11 am

    you were awesome on that show, although i wish you were able to talk longer. Meme made herself look ridiculous, for sure.

  6. 6 Phoebe Terry June 28, 2007 at 5:41 am

    Hi Joy
    I was wondering when your website was gonna get launched, I like what you’ve done with the place!
    The editor of bitch e-mailed me about our interview, she said that she’s gonna read it within the next couple of days and get back to me. The reason it’s taken so long to get a response is the team recently moved to Portland and have got new interns in etc, so they’ve been busy. I also apologize for not contacting you sooner and congratulating you on your website, I have been busy with student applications and whatnot.

    That Me me Wroth woman has an untrustworthy, desperately hungry face. I wanted to pin her to the ground and fill her face with twinkies in the hope that she would develop dimples and a more intelligent outlook on life. I loved it that she was in the middle of you and Kelly, it was a good metaphor for this annoying, plummy little slip of an ideology, connecting health with leanness, just being pushed out of the picture and replaced with size acceptance (you) and realistic healthy living (Kelly.)

    Well done Joy

    I’ll let you know if bitch liked the interview asap

    Love love love

    Phoebe xxx

  7. 7 citizen spot June 29, 2007 at 3:42 am

    Great job on the show. I loved your you tube rant, and you made a good point about sizes. When I was growing up, there were no size zeros, or twos, and very rarely fours. The smallest women’s sizes were 6. In high school, I was 5’4″, 125, size 14, and I played varsity soccer and softball. I had a resting pulse of 45 beats per minute. I was healthy as all get out, but I was ridiculed for being “fat”. I did put off alot of things that I wanted to do, but, like you, I got over it and went ahead and did stuff anyway, eff them if they can’t deal with it!

  8. 8 ladyjaye August 16, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    I love what you and Kelly Bliss said on that show…

    And do you think that MeMe woman was uncomfortable, being seated between 2 BBWs? Ms. Bliss has a point that that woman confuses health and weight.

    And to add to Citizen Spot’s example: in high school I was 5’1, something like 160 lbs. and I played ice hockey in school (on top of the p.e. class)… I was still fat but boy was I a healthy 16-year-old!

  9. 9 SarahEllen October 30, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    What MeMe Roth fails to understand is that it is not that there weren’t fat kids twenty years ago, we just had to shop in the adult section of the stores because we outgrew the child’s size 16. Some of us just borrowed clothes from our mom’s closet. I am 165lbs, 5’4″ and a size 14. I exercise daily, and for most of this past summer I was kayaking for 6 hours a week in addition to my regular exercise. I eat well and yet I have not lost a single pound since I started doing all this. Does that mean that my being overweight could actually be…healthy? Shocking, I know, but that woman needs to stop being so concerned about the rest of us.

  10. 10 Madeleine July 14, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    Very good job on the show. I’m glad you talked about what you did. Meme sure is annoying, though.


Leave a Reply

