Asos dress! And a little piece of my mind…

I was pining over this dress for about a week at asos.com and when it disappeared off the site I flew into a panic.
Mercifully it came back a day or two later so I bit the bullet and committed the ultimate sin of paying full price…

And I looooove it.
Well, except for this…

Wtf is that all about? Never ever have I experienced such armpit overexposure. Come on Asos, it’s just another inch and a half of fabric. Just reduce the 4 inches that are hidden under the hem if you’re worried about yield!

Nits picked, however. I’m still in love with it and will just remind myself to wear a skin-colored bra when I’m wearing it every day for the rest of my life.

5’8″ 240ish 49-42-51
PS: I’m selling some of my vintage dresses over at fatshionxchange!
http://fatshionxchange.livejournal.com/699217.html

11 Responses to “Asos dress! And a little piece of my mind…”


  1. 1 Ashley April 25, 2011 at 3:50 am

    Yeah even without a bra it would be showing too much side boob. Otherwise, it looks good, but I would like it better with different colors.

  2. 2 O.C. April 25, 2011 at 3:55 am

    Amen! Why do so many of the plus size clothing manufacturers do this? I tried to buy a tank top maxi dress from J Jill last year, and the armholes were down BELOW my bra band! Do they think we have enormous shoulder joints? What’s the deal? Because, really, what plus sized woman can go without a bra? I know there are some out there, but not a lot!

    Anyway, this looks cute on you! Congratulations!

  3. 3 jaed April 25, 2011 at 9:14 am

    It looks as though you could take a piece of the hem allowance and make a wee triangular gusset on each side. That way you wouldn’t have to worry about your bra color.

    (I used to be able to go without a bra just fine [sigh].

  4. 4 Joy April 30, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    Very pretty on you!

    Do you have any shrugs? Not that a bit of bra showing on the side matters!

    I have a few shrugs that I wear with summer dresses to hide straps…

  5. 5 A.D. May 5, 2011 at 10:19 am

    The exposed pit is a small price to pay for an amazing looking dress.

  6. 6 Ma @ Plus Size May 16, 2011 at 1:19 am

    The color of the dress looks great. The tangerine looks perfect, but I think the color blue is too dark, maybe its good to pair with lighter one.

  7. 7 Sharron Unser June 12, 2011 at 10:14 am

    I THINK ITS IS UN ATTRACTIVE AND THAT’S BEING POLITE . YOU ARE A VERY BEAUTIFUL YOUNG LADY AND I THINK YOU COULD HAVE FOUND SOMETHING MUCH MORE ATTRACTIVE .SORRY DON’T MEAN TO BURST YOUR BUBBLE .REALLY THIS SHOULD BE USED FOR A COUCH COVER OR MENS BEDROOM CURTAINS.

  8. 8 Bunny July 8, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    ummm I’d just go with the side boob or else wear a tank top that matches the dress over your bra so it doesn’t show because having your bra show like that just makes it look like your clothes don’t fit.

    Especially a “skin colored bra” which doesn’t actually blend in to your skin tone…if you’re going to show a bra, show a black one, not one that you wear when you’re specifically trying to hide your bra.

    The dress is really cute, though. Just put a tank top over the granny bra!

  9. 9 Bunny July 8, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    actually take back what I said about the black bra, it wouldn’t match either, get a navy blue one that matches the dress color.

  10. 10 ades August 11, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Love the pockets! Bummer about side boob- even a flat-chested girl would have issues it seems….

  11. 11 Amber June 11, 2012 at 10:09 am

    I agree with Bunny – wear a navy or orange bra and flaunt it – also maybe a strapless bra might show less. I think it’s adorable though – i love it!! :) P.S. I just found your fat rants on youtube this weekend after i’d been talking to my girlfriends about the need for a fat rant blog – then I found yours when I put it into google. Thank you for being the voice of all of us fat girls – who unite together to say “there are worse things than being fat!” :D


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 666 other followers

