Sigh…

This is Christan Cantwell.

I want him to marry me. I think he’s already married. To another shotputter at that, but a girl can dream…

If you haven’t seen this , you should look at it. It kinda cracks your head open to realize that each of these people are perfect. They’re uniquely suited and perfectly designed to accomplish the feats that they do. And they’re all different.

It’s really really stupid that “athletic build” means “shaped like a swimmer or a track star”…

Those stats listed are really incredible: the shotputter’s biceps measure the same as the cyclist’s thighs; the marathoner can only bench press 65 pounds; and I really get a kick that these 2 eat roughly the same amount of calories every day:

22 Responses to “Sigh…”


  1. 1 Catnik August 6, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Well, obviously, the weightlifter should just eat less and exercise more.

  2. 2 Aerik August 6, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    A shotputter. So that is what I’m built like. I wondered. People ask me what sport I’m lifting weights for and I never have an answer.

    Damn he’s tall, though.

    You’re right. It’s totally unfair that before every gym program at the community college I went to, they measure your arm and leg fat/size with this annoying calipers as if we all want to do the same thing and have the same body size. Utter and complete bullshit.

  3. 3 O.C. August 6, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Cheryl Haworth is so damn COOL. I’m thrilled every time I see her competing. Go Cheryl!!!

  4. 4 Mindy August 6, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Great post. Heck, even when I was swimming competitively I didn’t have the perfect “athletic build.” I had the inverted triangle thing going on, but I still had a but of a tummy. Even now as an 18/20 I have the inverted triangle thing going on, but with a bit of a bulge in the middle, lol. Having that stereotypical build has nothing to do with how athletic a person is. Different sports/events require different types of stamina and strength.

  5. 5 Twistie August 6, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    I’ve always found the Olympics a great way of breaking the brain in terms of what the human body ‘should’ be and ‘should’ do.

    I remember one year the commentators talking about how incredibly short a vollyball player was at 5’3″. Then up came gymnastics, and they were talking about how hugely tall one competitor was at…you guessed it, 5’3″. At the time, the very tall gymnast was eighteen and reaching the end of her career. In the equestrian there was a rider who was a fresh-faced newbie at thirty.

    Bodies come in an almost infinite variety of shapes and sizes with an astonishing range of abilities. The wonderful thing is, they’re all beautiful shapes and all amazing abilities.

    I think that’s one of the things I’ve always so enjoyed about the Olympics. That and those incredible moments of personal endurance and true sportsmanship that punctuate the events.

  6. 6 Mari August 6, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    Joy, he’s married to Teri Steer. You can google her name to see her picture. She’s not as pretty as you but she is a Scorpio and he is a Libra, so they are right next to each other in the zodiac. Got to hate those Scorpios. *sarcasm* There are plenty of other guys out there but welcome back to the dating pool!

  7. 7 dogmamaonly August 6, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Christian is HOT. Like “get in me now” hot.

  8. 8 Lynda August 6, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    He looks *very* like my son (picture on request) who is planning to come to the USA in 2009 – interested :-) ???

  9. 9 Joy Nash August 6, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Mari, yeah Teri Steer is that other shotputter I was talking about. :( That kid of theirs is going to be a force of friggin nature!

    O.C., Do you know about Strong? Julie Wyman’s making a documentary about Cheryl– I think she’s in China with her right now. It looks really really incredible. She showed us about 20 minutes of it at the NAAFA convention in July. You can see the trailer here
    I can’t wait to see the whole thing!!

    Aerik, pictures please? lol

    Lynda, hmm… is he coming to Los Angeles, by any chance? Do tell me more… ;)

  10. 10 The Bald Soprano August 6, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Cheryl Haworth is my new hero :) I may have to watch some Olympics after all… And if I can find that documentary over here (Germany) when it comes out, I will watch it.

    My husband is built somewhat along the lines of Christian Cantwell (slightly shorter, much less muscle, I guess, since he weighs about 70 lbs less…, and less hair). I’ve always been attracted to guys with that type of body *happy sigh*

    (My husband is an archer (traditional archery, not olympic). Love, love love those shoulder muscles. :) )

  11. 11 Jenifer August 7, 2008 at 8:38 am

    I was a shotputter for Virginia Tech my first year there. I exercised a minimum of 4 hours per day, 6 days per week, and never weighed less than 240. In fact, over the year I was on the team, I gained weight. I could squat 300lbs, push press 160lbs, and bench 100lbs. My scale said 250, and medical charts said, at 5’10″ 250, that I was obese and unhealthy. Fact is, never in my life, both before AND since, have I been more healthy than I was that year on the track team.

  12. 12 Kori August 7, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    As always, Joy, I love you… yeah, now if only people would GET that message from the olympics. Instead, they’ll probably just admire the gymnasts, the bikers, etc…

  13. 13 The Bald Soprano August 8, 2008 at 8:39 am

    Thanks to this post (and the link), I only spent half my time watching the athletes march in counting women in the smaller teams (Iran and the UAE both had women flag bearers *boggle*), and the other half noticing women with the same basic body shape as me (although WAY fitter). I didn’t notice Cheryl Haworth or Cristian Catwell (worse luck), but I did see female shotputters, boxers, weighlifters and I think one or two swimmers who were built big, with broad shoulders, chests, and stomachs that stuck out nearly as much or as much as their chests.

    I wish I had played this game when I was in high school…

  14. 14 Steel Geezer August 9, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    I’ve been a power-lifter all my adult life, overweight by most measures, but with a large amount of muscle mass, and I can move some steel (but I am no Chery!).

    What burns me is that people feel they have to ‘give me advice’ at the gym. What they see is a 58 year old gray-haired woman, obviously ‘unfit’ and they just can’t help themselves! They wouldn’t think of walking up to an obvious anorexic model type and saying “Wow, looks like you need to put on a little muscle, let me help you…”. There is an obvious bias at work, where ‘skinny’ is healthy, and ‘fat’ is not healthy. If you’ve followed Sandy Szwarc’s Junkfood Science blog (google it, it is very worth reading), you’ll know that there is NO evidence for that. It is, essentially anecdotal, manufactured, nonsense. (With a huge industry to reinforce the lies.)

    Regarding both sexes:

    Some folks are built to run it down and kill it, some folks are built to carry it back to camp. It’s all in the genes…

    Loved your video’s, I think they are right on the mark. And isn’t Christian Cantwell gorgeous!!! He has a perfect body (to my way of thinking!) Lucky girl me, I married a shot-putter! 6’40 with shoulders in three counties! Lucky, Lucky, Lucky!!

    Your new net pal The Steel Geezer,

    Cap’n Jan

  15. 15 Aerik August 9, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Sorry Joy, the only pics I can come up with come from my mothers’s digital camera of me from the shoulders up holding her grandchildren (my nephews), wearing rather drab t-shirts that make me look more rectangular than I actually am. Not a turn-on series by any means. o<|8^Þ And besides those photos, there’s no other photographic evidence of me on the planet after my high school graduation ceremony.

    Anyhoo.

    I feel the same way as Twistie. The full spectrum of human body shapes and sizes is illustrated so poignantly in the Olympics (haha, FF3′s spellchecker forced me to capitalize that). You can’t get the same level of observation just staring at a crowd.

    It gets more interesting if you’ve ever watched a gymnast go from newbie, to an Olympic competitor, to retirement from gymnastics. And especially in the women. Little else could illuminate the dedication these athletes have then watching a girl or young woman go through a gymnastics career. The things the sport does to their bodies is extreme even for an athlete, IMO.

    It’s absolutely necessary that they keep up the sport through adolescence, or else their broadened shoulders shrink and their collarbones and spines relax and set. Then they try too hard at a sport they’ve built up skills for with a different skeleton, and serious injury is inevitable. Spine injuries are unsurprising even in peak physical conditioning.

    After watching and knowing all this, to go back to our daily lives and re-learn and regurgitate all the bullshit we’re fed from the media and advertisements… we’ve got some serious problems in western civilization when it comes to body image.

  16. 16 cir65109 August 10, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    I went to Eldon schools with Christian in fact he was my neighbor very nice guy then.

  17. 17 Bri August 11, 2008 at 1:44 am

    That is one hot hunk o’ man! Drool….

  18. 18 Dan August 12, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    I think the one of the best sports to do for large people is long distance swimming. I blogged about it. Basically lots of fat gives you insulation (so you stay warm) and helps you float more easily (thus spending less energy on actually moving). A lot of the long distance open ocean swimmers can be quite big. Yay.

  19. 19 The Bald Soprano August 15, 2008 at 6:25 am

    Well, I just turned on the TV and caught the end of the men’s shotput, and Christian Cantwell won the silver medal! *cheers*

    (and the guy who won gold is also gorgeous, btw)

  20. 20 Sharanya July 26, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    I am a dancer. Actually, I am considered the best of the category where I live (I learn Indian Classical dance for over 15 years). Right now I teach and have a group. Still, my mother thinks that a classical dancer can´t be fat. This blows my self-steem a lot.
    P.S. I have 75 kilos, I am quite fit and healthy though due to practice, but it seems that for a classical dancer I am fat…Maybe I am not strong enough, maybe I should not be bothered by the patterns imposed by the western standards, but still…

  21. 21 building an olympic body to visual impact July 26, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment. I do believe that you need to write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but typically people do not discuss these subjects. To the next! Best wishes!!


  1. 1 Big Fat Deal » The Olympic Body, The Male Gaze Trackback on August 14, 2008 at 2:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 666 other followers

