Jesus and CNN

I get a lot of really really incredible and moving letters from you guys – I really wish I could respond to more of them and I know that sounds totally cheezy, and I HATE it when people say crap like that, but it’s kind of overwhelming trying to follow up and give everybody the attention they deserve. That said, I do read absolutely everything and I feel really honored and privileged and teary-faced to be let into your lives in that small way.

Last week “News To Me” on CNN Headline News reran the piece they did on me last year and I got a new wave of letters from amazing people.
I forwarded one of them on to an associate producer for the show to say thanks and they put up a blog about it!
http://ntm.blogs.cnn.com/2008/07/17/sometimes-one-email-is-worth-a-thousand-ratings-points/

In other news, my mother is very glad to see that Jesus has made it into my top friends on MySpace.
Mom: Joy! Your brother told me that Jesus is your friend again!
Me: What? Oh. Yeah, I rearranged my page a little…
Mom: Joy, I am SO GLAD. He IS your friend, you know.
Me: I know, Ma.
Mom: Just CALL on him!!
Me: Ok.

Although… I just realized I have more myspace friends than Jesus does. What do you think that means?

9 Responses to “Jesus and CNN”


  1. 1 Dan July 17, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Your like the beatles?

  2. 2 Noe July 17, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Joy, I too get harassed by my fundamentalist Christian mother about this thing. I ended up moving half-way around the world and only take her phone calls when I’m drunk. haha! take that, mum!

  3. 3 ladyjaye75 July 17, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Joy, does it mean you’ll get dressed properly for the summer heat (sandals ftw), gather everyone, transform bread into fish and water into wine, and have the BBQ party of the century? :P

  4. 4 kateanon July 18, 2008 at 5:32 am

    Joy – you are hysterical and adorable!

  5. 5 cggirl July 18, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Teehee. Joy, i thought you should know fillyjonk over on shapely prose wondered what a joy nash fish would look like… so of course it had to be done immediately.

    Here is JoyFish:
    http://www.shmonster.com/joyfish_red.jpg

    there are some more versions of it and some plans to make bumpers stickers and stuff on the relevant post over there…
    http://kateharding.net/2008/07/17/quote-of-the-mfin-day/

    just thought you’d want to know :)

  6. 6 Amy July 19, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    A friend emailed me your link, and I haven’t laughed this hard in ages….THANK YOU! I just find your blog incredible! You go girl!

  7. 7 Martin July 24, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Nice freckles :)

    If Jesus had cute freckles, it might be a fair competition.

  8. 8 Mary T. July 24, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Ha — that is the funniest!

  9. 9 Lisa July 31, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Wow, I would surely like to see a survey on how many fans have similar personalities to Joy’s Mom! I know I do! Whats up with that?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 664 other followers

