Shockerooney

 Surprise, surprise!
THIS

doesn’t happen by just “putting your mind to it”.
http://news.aol.com/entertainment/television/story/_a/jones-reynolds-admits-gastric-bypass/20070731021009990001

Can you BELIEVE she was saying THIS
only 4 months ago??
and THIS is only a month old!

Just tell the truth lady!

To cleanse the palate:

10 Responses to “Shockerooney”


  1. 1 vesta44 August 1, 2007 at 3:38 am

    Well, when you have WLS, you don’t have a choice on the amount of food you can eat at one time, so of course she’s going to eat smaller portions. I think it’s too bad she just couldn’t admit from the get-go that she had WLS and that’s how she lost weight. By saying that it was diet and exercise, she perpetuated the myth that anyone can lose weight. It can be done, I suppose, but it’s not a permanent solution. And neither is WLS. Been there done that, and it (VBG) came undone. Luckily, I don’t have any complications from that, but I think I’m in the minority there (other than the complication of gaining it all back and more).
    I’m not saying that it’s anyone’s business how she lost weight (or gained it), but if you’re in the public eye, people are going to be nosy. It’s either come out and say it’s no one’s business, or be honest. Beating around the bush, and lying about how you lost weight just makes people think less of you.
    And she’s found out that weight loss doesn’t magically cure all your problems. If you don’t love yourself (the inner you) when you’re fat, you aren’t going to love the inner you when you’re thin unless you do some serious soul-searching and are willing to work on those problems.

  2. 2 Marianne August 2, 2007 at 6:29 am

    Well no has actually talked about Star in a long while so I think she had to come out with this so people would remember who she was. She was willing to talk about all other aspects of her life, why not this? I think it’s shameful that she lied to everyone. Trying to make everyone think she just did it by exercise and diet losing weight that fast.

  3. 3 LOUP August 2, 2007 at 9:14 am

    I used to think that she was a very beautiful woman — now she just looks sickly and scary. Just goes to show you can’t believe any thing that celebrities say *grins*.

  4. 4 Tari August 2, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    You know, I think stunts like this feed all the myths about fat and completely undermine size acceptance. I remember admiring Star for being fabulous and fat and for being a great example of how happiness and success aren’t tied to a size. Now, sadly, this kind of stunt makes it look like everything she ever said that was fat positive was just an excuse or a justification, and that once she took action, she totally lost weight. You know, like *everybody* could if they just tried…

    I am not one to follow celebrity anything (I can barely keep up with the lives of the people I give a damn about, let alone total strangers), so I do think she had the right to keep her weight loss situation and methods private – but it seems clear by the way she chose to work through this that she isn’t interested in preserving her privacy….just her celebrity (such as it is).

    Lying about something like this, with the potential it has to negatively impact so many people and wreak such havoc with their mental and physical health…I just find that wrong on every level. Of course, I value integrity over being thin – and I’m not so sure Star does.

  5. 5 Rey August 10, 2007 at 4:12 am

    I did not really like the comment about you saying that you don’t get that thin just through hard work. There are many people who do lose a lot of weight through hard work. And just from someone who has had surgery to lose weight, it is STILL hard work to lose weight. This is NOT for people who are expecting easy and fast results. Just because there are many lazy people out there who have the surgery for the wrong reasons, does make the surgery itself an easy way out.
    I’m all for BBW movement (I’m still big, though smaller) but I don’t think that we should criticize everyone who wants to lose weight. Besides, that was Star Jones’ business anyway.

  6. 6 SusieQueued August 24, 2007 at 5:42 am

    Yay for zombie kitties!

    on a more serious note…everyone always thought that Star had the surgery to lose her weight, but of course she would never say. I was really shocked at myself when I heard that she had lost the weight through surgery and actually considered getting it done. Stupid high publicity always washing my brain!

    Thanks for being there, Joy. I really appreciated your video when someone showed it to me. Made me cry…because people do treat me like I’m stupid or don’t have the right to live simply because I’m fat. So it was great to hear someone basically yell at me that they’re not true. Thanks :D You’re the bestest.

    P.S. I am so throwing out the clothes that don’t fit because you’re right; they are taking up space and PISSING me OFF!

  7. 7 Girl on a mission August 24, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    http://dietingbattle.blogspot.com/

    Oh to be the size of Star Jones now! My goodness, so many people go through the same battle. Thank you for your post and your educational information.

    I’m on a journey to lose 100 pounds and every bit helps.

    Join me on my blogging journey to success!

  8. 8 Johanna July 17, 2008 at 12:31 am

    Star has that “gastric by-pass” look. I can’t explain it, but nearly everyone that has WLS has this look about them. Probably because with WLS you don’t lose weight evenly across your body as you would (if it worked) with diet/exercise combo.


  1. 1 Music City Bloggers » Blog Archive » . Trackback on August 1, 2007 at 12:18 pm
  2. 2 Reducing expectations at Kindly Póg Mo Thóin Trackback on August 6, 2007 at 3:23 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 667 other followers

